Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. May news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Nancy Calhoun, 785-539-4448,
Note to editor: Sara Sanders is a graduate of Olathe South High School.
News release prepared by: Katie Mayes, 785-532-2535,

Tuesday, May 25, 2010


MANHATTAN -- The nation's oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society recently inducted more than 100 new members from Kansas State University.

Phi Kappa Phi's new members are second-semester juniors in the upper 7.5 percent of their class, seniors in the upper 10 percent of their class or outstanding graduate students, also in the top 10 percent of their class.

Two faculty members also were inducted: April Mason, K-State's provost and senior vice president, and Bruce Schultz, professor of anatomy and physiology.

Spring 2010 initiates at K-State include:

Edward Zuiss, senior in industrial engineering, Andover; Ashley Eck, junior in secondary education, Augusta; Kyle Essley, junior in agricultural economics, Baxter Springs; Jaime Welsh, junior in accounting, Edgerton; Bradley Williams, senior in information systems, El Dorado; Rebecca Karnowski, junior in elementary education, Emmett; Ryan Ritter, master's student in adult, occupational and continuing education, and Michael Davis, master's student in security studies, both from Fort Leavenworth; Jeremy Wulf, junior in social sciences, Fort Riley; Ashlee Brown, junior in animal sciences and industry, Fredonia; and Joshua Weese, junior in engineering technology, Great Bend.

From Greater Kansas City: Ashlan Fischer, junior in fine arts, Leawood; Pamela Brill, senior in dietetics, Lenexa; Brenton Ware, senior, biological and agricultural engineering, Mission; Sara Sanders, junior in secondary education, Olathe; Michael Ellis, junior in biology, Scott Haner, senior in chemical engineering, and Anne McClain, junior in secondary education, all from Overland Park; John Drouhard, senior in computer engineering, and Andrew McGowan, senior in agronomy, both from Prairie Village; and Daniel Domsch, junior in management, Shawnee.

Tanner Korf, senior in computer engineering, Humboldt; Andy Newsum, junior in agricultural education, and Taylor Veh, junior in microbiology, both from Hutchinson; Kelsey McGie, senior in milling science and management, Iola; Amanda Taylor, senior in management, Junction City; and Timothy Civils, doctoral student in adult, occupational, and continuing education, Lansing.

From Lawrence: Sarah Brooks, junior in anthropology; J. David Kihm, senior in accounting; and James Pangelinan, master's student in security studies.

Louisa Garcia, senior in elementary education, Liberal.

From Manhattan: Jithma Abeykoon, junior in biochemistry; Melania Arrieta, senior in food science and industry; Anna Beck, master's student in theater; Ryan Biedron, senior in secondary education and mathematics; Russell Boyer, senior in management; Michael Brown, third-year student in veterinary medicine; Joan Cahoj, master's student in family studies and human services; Rebecca Clancy, junior in agricultural economics; Fatou Diack, master's student in modern languages; Kate Donnelly, senior in art; Chad Jackson, master's student in adult, occupational and continuing education; Chelsea Kufahl, junior in kinesiology; Paula Kurtz, senior in microbiology; Jung Hoon Lee, doctoral student in human ecology; Lisa Mechels, master's student in special education; Elizabeth Canales Medina, master's student in agricultural economics; Kevin Murphy, senior in sociology; Elizabeth Musoke, graduate student in regional and community planning; Susanna Parks, senior in food, nutrition and exercise science, and kinesiology; Gabriela Rattin, master's student in grain science; Md. Sarwar Siddiqui, master's student in civil engineering; Andrew Wagner, senior in economics; Erin Wainwright, junior in communication sciences and disorders; Melanie Wilkos, senior in modern languages; Brent Williams, master's student in security studies; and Anna Zeiger, senior in nutritional sciences.

Jammie Layman, junior in philosophy, Marysville; Aaron Friess, junior in sociology, and Ashley Walker, senior in secondary education and mathematics, both from McPherson; Alan Winter, senior in biological systems engineering, Mount Hope; Erin Strathe, junior in nutritional sciences, Parsons; Brett Adkinson, junior in agronomy, Princeton; Jordan Robertson, senior in engineering technology, Salina; Daniel Gresham, master's student in curriculum and instruction, St. Marys; and Kristin Gleason, senior in secondary education, St. John.

From Topeka: Paula Ackerman, senior in elementary education; Paul Carnahan, senior in architectural engineering; Craig Johnson, senior in computer science and mathematics; Daniel Madden, senior in animal sciences and industry; and Adam Whitney, senior in chemistry and secondary education.

Jana Whitesell, junior in business administration, Waterville; Amanda Zeka, senior in entrepreneurship and marketing, Wellington; and Stacy Littlechild, junior in biology, Wakeeney.

From Wichita: Michelle Bainum, senior in management; Kelsey Flickner, senior in family studies and human services; Michelle Meyer, third-year student in veterinary medicine; and Thomas Jones, third-year student in interior architecture and product design.

From out of state:

Jeremy Sautter, master's student in community development, Tucson, Ariz.

From California: Megan Baldwin, master's student in agribusiness, Bakersfield; Joel Karlin, senior in agribusiness, Fresno; and Bobby Carter, master's student in family studies and human services, San Pablo.

Elise Fagan, second-year student in landscape architecture, Aurora, Colo.; Katherine Fertig, second-year student in veterinary medicine, Greenwich, Conn.; Andrew Neal, master's student in geology, Byron, Ga.; Lisa Bernal, master's student in academic advising, Newton, Iowa; Megan Cassidy, master's student in family studies and human services, Minonk, Ill.

From Missouri: Joshua Huenefeld, senior in architectural engineering, Adrian; Dylan Powell, fourth-year student in architecture, Ashland; Cassie Brown, senior in secondary education, Independence; and Natalie Martell, second-year student in landscape architecture, Lee's Summit.

From Nebraska: Vanessa Tanderup, senior in dietetics, Fremont; Lauren Jader, senior in kinesiology, Gibbon; Brooke Clements, master's student in academic advising, La Vista; Craig McGill, master's student in academic advising, Lincoln; Charley Cull, junior on animal sciences and industry, Oakland; and Robert Matlock, master's student in civil engineering, Omaha.

Benjamin Munro, doctoral student in geography, Dickinson, N.D.; and Matthew Harris, master's student in security studies, Runnemede, N.J.

From New York: Ahuva Kurland, senior in dietetics, Brooklyn; Spencer Lutchen, third-year student in veterinary medicine, Harrison; Chad Foust, junior in animal sciences and industry, Webster; and Joan Shinault, master's student in academic advising, Yonkers.

Kamran Ali, master's student in electrical engineering, Gahanna, Ohio; Tricia Forbes-Hollenbach, junior in dietetics, Middleburg, Pa.; Jennifer Collins, second-year student in veterinary medicine, Shillington, Pa.; Paul Cain, junior in engineering technology, Hot Springs, S.D.; Sandra Griffin, master's student in academic advising, Blacksburg, Va.; Abbie Werner, master's student in academic advising, Charlottesville, Va.; John Brasington, master's student in agribusiness, Bellingham, Wash.; and Jerold Quaerna, master's student in academic advising, Lake Geneva, Wis.