Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. May news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Lorraine Cutler, 785-532-5992,
News release prepared by: Diane Potts, 785-532-1090 or

Wednesday, May 19, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University students from the College of Architecture, Planning and Design have earned honors in the annual Regional Student Competition sponsored by the Kansas City Architects, Designers, Dealers and Representatives, a furniture and furnishings interest group in the metropolitan Kansas City area.

The furniture was made during the 2009-2010 academic year in furniture design and construction studio classes instructed by interior architecture and product design faculty members David Brown, Steve Davidson and Rod Troyer.

Students earning honors, all interior architecture and product design majors unless otherwise noted, include:

Sara Norman, third-year student, third place in small furnishings, and Megan Pfau, third-year student, fourth place in small furnishings, both from Lenexa; Sally Ebright, May 2010 master's graduate, Lyons, first place in large furniture; and Cara Cotter, third-year student, Wichita, first place in small furnishings.

From out of state:

Rachel Lehr, fourth-year student in architecture, Harlan, Iowa, first place in architecture.

From Missouri: Paul Jarvis, fourth-year student, Manchester, third place in large furniture; Jordan Kuhlmann, third-year student, St. Louis, second place in small furnishings; and Andrea Nelson, May 2010 master's graduate, Smithville, second place in large furniture.

This year’s competition jurors included Kathy Anderson, Designtex; Sara DiMaggio, Interior Landscape Inc.; Kevin Dougherty, Home Depot; Bill Gapske Sr., Home Depot; Mike Kirkpatrick, Encompas; Ed Kinney and Jim Pettijohn, Pettijohn Kinney Architects and Interiors; Jennifer Peterson, Caddy Reproduction; and Ray Secrest, Secrest Architectural Interiors.

In his prize presentation remarks, juror representative Kirkpatrick said the jurors used three criteria -- design, marketability and craftsmanship -- to make their award decisions.

"Many of the jurors have juried this competition for a number of years," he said. "We never cease to be amazed at the ever-increasing level of creativity and workmanship in the students’ furniture designs and construction. Coming to K-State each year for this competition is something we truly look forward to."