Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. May news releases

Source: Kristin Mortenson, 785-532-3832,
News release prepared by: Nellie Ryan, 785-532-6415,

Wednesday, May 6, 2009


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University's department of music has recognized several students for excellence with special honors, scholarships, awards and membership into a music honor society.

Several music students earned recognition at the department's recent annual Honors Recital Competition. At the event, nine finalists competed for three scholarship awards, and the department announced recipients of other awards and scholarships.

In addition, new members of K-State's chapter of Pi Kappa Lambda, the music honor society, have been selected. Membership in the society is open to music majors who are juniors, seniors or graduate students. Juniors must rank in the top 10 percent of their class; graduating seniors must have outstanding scholarly achievement and musicianship and rank in the top 20 percent of their class; and graduate students must have earned an "A" in at least two-thirds of their graduate credit classes.

K-State music students earning special honors or recognitions include:

Sarah Bartel, senior in applied music, Cimarron, Pi Kappa Lambda Scholarship as the outstanding senior music major and new Pi Kappa Lambda member; Cody Wheeler, senior in music education, Clearwater, Phi Mu Alpha Collegiate Award; Ashley Maughlin, graduate student in music, Dighton, new Pi Kappa Lambda member; Travis Keller, graduate student in music, Ellis, new Pi Kappa Lambda member; Justin Harbaugh, graduate student in music, Emporia, Honors Recital second-place scholarship winner and new Pi Kappa Lambda member; Meghan Hardy, graduate student in music, Independence, new Pi Kappa Lambda member.

From Manhattan: John Allred, freshman in music, Pi Kappa Lambda outstanding freshman music major; Dean Linton, senior in applied music, Honors Recital first-place scholarship winner; and Mai Shibahara, graduate student in music, new Pi Kappa Lambda member.

Andrea Weber, a December 2008 bachelor's graduate in music education, Olathe, new Pi Kappa Lambda member.

From Topeka: Brandon Bayless, senior in management, Phi Mu Alpha Scholastic Award; Kirsten McManus, December 2008 bachelor's graduate in music education, Sigma Alpha Iota Collegiate Award and Scholastic Award; and Kevin Welch, senior in music education, Topeka, new Pi Kappa Lambda member.

From Wichita: Katie Kreis, sophomore in music education, Lloyd W. Muir Memorial Music Scholarship and Honors Recital third-place scholarship winner; and Ben MacGill, sophomore in music, Pi Kappa Lambda outstanding sophomore music major.

From out of state:

Paul Mueller, graduate student in music, Clarkston, Mich., new Pi Kappa Lambda member and the K-State chapter of Golden Key International Honor Society's graduate teaching assistant of the year; and Melissa Woodworth, junior in music education, Papillion, Neb., Pi Kappa Lambda outstanding junior music major and the Presser Undergraduate Award. The Presser award, which includes a monetary prize, is one of the most prestigious for music students, with only one award presented at select schools across the country.