Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. May news releases

Source: Susanne Siepl-Coates, 785-532-1122,
News release prepared by: Diane Potts, 785-532-6415,

Tuesday, May 19, 2009


MANHATTAN -- Final projects by five architecture students will receive the Heintzelman Prize from Kansas State University's College of Architecture, Planning and Design.

The Heintzelman Prize is awarded each year to fifth-year architecture students for outstanding design in their final semester. The prize is named for J. Cranston Heintzelman, a longtime professor in K-State's department of architecture. Two students in each of the fifth-year design studios are nominated by faculty. The winners are then chosen by a distinguished jury.

Recipients of the 2009 Heintzelman Prize are:

Mark Neibling, Olathe, for "The Tempelhof Airport Project in Berlin, Germany"; and Andrew Rutenbeck, Wichita, for "A Public Bath in Yellowstone Park."

From out of state:

Trent Gareis, Sterling, Colo., for "The Berlin Wall Project, Berlin, Germany"; Brett Milkovich, Chicago, Ill., for "Global Exchange Forum in Stavanger, Norway"; and Nicholas Turner, Jefferson City, Mo., for "Sheltering Embrace: The Architecture of Hospice Care."

The five winning projects are on display through the summer in Seaton Hall's Chang Gallery and in the hallway flanking 212 Seaton Hall.

The projects also are available online at: