Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. March news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Kiley Moody, 785-532-6318,
Photos available. Contact or 785-532-2535.

Tuesday, March 1, 2011


MANHATTAN -- Exemplary urban leadership has earned six Kansas high school seniors scholarships from Kansas State University.

K-State's Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship recognizes outstanding high school seniors who have made contributions to their urban communities. The scholarship is named in honor of the Paul Edgerley and Bernard Franklin families, K-State alumni who continuously demonstrate leadership and support of service to individuals from urban areas. The scholarship was created in memory of Franklin's wife, Elsia, who was committed to helping better the lives of young girls in urban Alabama.

This is the fourth year the scholarship has been awarded. The recipients are:

Jonathan Bernard, Hutchinson, Hutchinson High School; Zachary Jones, Junction City, Junction City High School; Isamel Hernandez, Sumner Academy High School, and Chayce Wynn, Piper High School, both from Kansas City, Kan.; Kayla Nguyen, Olathe, St. James Academy; and Marysol Alvidrez, Wichita, Wichita South High School.

K-State received nearly 115 applications, and a selection committee chose 12 finalists to interview. Finalists participated in an on-campus interview and recognition day Feb. 14, with six students chosen to receive the $3,000 scholarship. Scholarships are renewable for up to three years with a 3.0 K-State grade point average.

"Both the Edgerley and Franklin families have demonstrated leadership for decades, particularly in the service to individuals from the urban core," said Pat Bosco, vice president for student life and dean of students at K-State. "Through this scholarship, the Edgerleys and Franklins hope to shape the next generation of great American urban leaders by helping them gain knowledge to make sound judgments, the character to flourish under the pressures of leadership, and the vision to bring new solutions to our nation's most pressing urban needs."

Finalists for the Edgerley-Franklin Urban Leadership Scholarship also included:

Jenae Tate, Junction City, Junction City High School; Jonathan Gregory, Lenexa, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School; Kelsey Ritz, Overland Park, Bishop Miege High School; Justine Floyd and Carly Richmond, both from Wichita and both from Wichita Heights High School; and Cimone Brown, Aurora, Colo., Cherokee Trail High School.