Skip to the content

Kansas State University




Join us on facebook


Check out K-State on YouTube


News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. March news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Melissa Linenberger, 785-532-4392
News release prepared by: Katie Mayes, 785-532-6415,

Friday, March 12, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University is promoting 18 faculty members to full professor, 34 to associate professor with tenure, and is awarding tenure to four faculty members.

K-State President Kirk Schulz has approved the promotions and tenure, which go into effect July 1.

Promoted to full professor are: Laurie Bagby, political science; Raymond Cloyd, entomology; John Crespi, agriculture economics; Joel DeRouchey, animal sciences and industry; Karen Garrett, plant pathology; Kurt Gartner, music; Bruce Glymour, philosophy; Kenneth Harkin, clinical sciences; Craig Harms, kinesiology; Keith Hohn, chemical engineering; Barney King, aviation; Charles Martin, geography; Jane Mertz Garcia, family studies and human services; Christopher Pinner, mathematics; Jacqueline Spears, secondary education; David Steward, civil engineering; Harold Trick, plant pathology; and Robert Wolf, biological and agriculture engineering.

Promoted to associate professor with tenure are: Vincent Amanor-Boadu, agricultural economics; Jennifer Askey, modern languages; Timothy Bower, engineering technology; Johann Coetzee, clinical sciences; Melinda Daniels, geography; Michael Dudek, apparel, textiles and interior design; Xiang Fang, mathematics; Todd Gabbard, architecture; William Genereux, engineering technology; Glen Horton-Smith, physics; Takashi Ito, chemistry; Julia Keen, architectural engineering and construction science; Butch KuKanich, anatomy and physiology; Thomas Logan, architectural engineering and construction science; Andrew Long, political science; Lester Loschky, psychology; Diego Maldonado, mathematics; Yurii Maravin, physics; Jeremy Marshall, entomology; Leland McKinney, grain science and industry; Christy Moran Craft, special education, counseling and student affairs; Brian Olson, agronomy and Northwest Area Extension office, Colby; Julie Pentz, communication studies, theater and dance; Eduard Plett, engineering technology; Andrew Smith, aviation; Lisa Tatonetti, English; Mark Ungerer, biology; Haiyan Wang, statistics; Brian Washburn, physics; Michael Wesch, sociology, anthropology and social work; Brad White, clinical sciences; Jeff Whitworth, entomology; Samantha Wisely, biology; and Jianming Yu, agronomy.

Earning tenure are the following faculty members, all associate professors, are: Yong Cheng Shi, grain science and industry; Kimberly Kirkpatrick, psychology; Caterina Scoglio, electrical and computer engineering; and Masaaki Tamura, anatomy and physiology.