Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. Media Relations >
  3. March news releases

Sources: Lori Goetsch, 785-532-7492,;
and Tara Coleman, 785-532-7414,
News release prepared by: Beth Bohn, 785-532-6415,

Friday, March 27, 2009


MANHATTAN -- A special honorary at Kansas State University for juniors that promotes scholarship, leadership and service, has selected its members for the 2009-2010 school year.

New members of Chimes are chosen during the spring of their sophomore year based on their service and leadership to fellow students at K-State. To become members, students also must have at least a 3.0 grade point average. Each month Chimes members participate in at least one community service activity. They also select K-State's honorary family each fall.

Selected to be members of K-State's Chimes for the 2009-2010 school year include:

Carrie Dotson, pre-professional business administration, Andover; Jessica Glaser, kinesiology, Derby; Kelsie Ball, family studies and human services, Eureka.

From Greater Kansas City: Kelby Polfer, apparel and textiles, Leawood; Kaley Hagemann, management and marketing, Lenexa; Carolyn Freeman, pre-professional secondary education, Overland Park; and Annie Oliver, life sciences, Prairie Village.

Taylor Concannon, political science, Hugoton; Megan Garden, fine arts, Hutchinson; Jessica Bradford, political science and pre-law, Lansing.

From Manhattan: Lizbeth Alcantra, family studies and human services; Kristi Mendenhall, human ecology, modern languages and pre-law; Casandra Robinson, mechanical engineering; and Daniel Unruh, food science and industry, and premedicine.

Rebecca Martin, biology and premedicine, McPherson; Alan Winter, mechanical engineering, Mount Hope; Kyle Merklein, civil engineering, Prairie View; Kristin Gleason, family and consumer science education, St. John; Nicole Allen, animal sciences and industry, Tonganoxie.

From Wichita: Haley Marceau, animal sciences and industry; Jon Simpson, history and pre-law; and Samuel Spiess, pre-professional architectural engineering.

From out of state: Monica Klawuhn, interior architecture and product design, Lee's Summit, Mo.; Heidi Ricken, management, St. Louis, Mo.; and Cameron Piercy, speech and political science, Comanche, Okla.