Skip to the content

Kansas State University

 

 

facebook

Join us on facebook

 

Check out K-State on YouTube

 

News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
785-532-2535
media@k-state.edu
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.
  1. K-State Home >
  2. Media Relations >
  3. March news releases

Source: Kristin Mortenson, 785-532-3832, kmortens@k-state.edu
News release prepared by: Nellie Ryan, 785-532-6415, media@k-state.edu

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

THE MONTH OF APRIL BRINGS A SHOWER OF K-STATE MUSIC PERFORMANCES

MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University's department of music is offering a variety of performances during April. Events include solo concerts, student recitals, and instrumental and vocal concerts.

Unless otherwise noted, all events are free and open to the public. Performances include:

* The Konza Wind Quintet at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 1, in All Faiths Chapel.

* Student string and percussionists will perform the annual "Sticks and Strings" recital at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 7, in All Faiths Chapel.

* The K-State Tuba-Euphonium Ensemble and Clarinet Choir will share a concert at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 8, in All Faiths Chapel.

* The annual Honors Recital and Competition, 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 9, in All Faiths Chapel. Students have competed in preliminary divisional and semifinal rounds to be selected for one of nine spots in the Honors Recital.

* The K-State Brass Ensemble, 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 14, in All Faiths Chapel.

* The K-State Percussion Ensemble, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 15, in McCain Auditorium.

* Faculty artist Paul Hunt, K-State professor of trombone, will present a solo trombone recital at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 16, in All Faiths Chapel.

* K-State's musical ambassadors, the K-State Singers, 7:30 p.m. Friday, April 17, in McCain Auditorium. Admission will be charged.

* K-State Cadence concert, 7:30 p.m. Monday, April 20, in McCain Auditorium. Admission will be charged.

* The K-State Orchestra, 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 21, in McCain Auditorium. The concert will feature two student soloists and one faculty soloist.

* The K-State Jazz Bands, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 22, in Forum Hall at the K-State Student Union.

* The music department's general student recital will be at 11:30 a.m., while the Men's Glee Club will present its spring concert at 7:30 p.m., both Thursday, April 23, and both in All Faiths Chapel. Admission will be charged for the Men's Glee Club concert.

* The K-State Symphony Band, 3 p.m. Sunday, April 26, in McCain Auditorium.

* David Littrell, university distinguished professor of music, will play a recital celebrating his 50 years of playing cello. This recital will be at 5:45 p.m. Monday, April 27, in All Faiths Chapel. A performance by the Student Brass Quintet will follow at 7:30 p.m., also in All Faiths Chapel.

* The Collegiate Chorale and Women's Glee Club, 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 28, in All Faiths Chapel.

* The K-State Jazz Combos' concert, 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 29, in Union Station at the Union.

* The Concert Choir, 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 30, in All Faiths Chapel.

More information on the performances is available by contacting the K-State department of music at 785-532-5740.