Skip to the content

Kansas State University




Join us on facebook


Check out K-State on YouTube


News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.

News release prepared by: Julie Fosberg, 785-532-2535,
Note to editors: This list includes only the names of students who have received scholarships that total $1,000 or more. Recipients are listed by county and hometown. The complete scholarship list also is available at our website,

Wednesday, Dec. 8, 2010


MANHATTAN -- More than 8,500 Kansas State University students have been awarded academic scholarships for the 2010-2011 school year. In all, K-State students have received more than $16 million in scholarships.

Most of the scholarships are made possible through donations and gifts to the Kansas State University Foundation.

Information on K-State student financial assistance is available at

K-State students receiving scholarships totaling more than $1,000 include:



Harper County

Anthony: Jeffrey Cather, Agriculture Enhancement, Harry H. Halbower, Jr. Memorial Scholarship and Medallion Scholarship; Caitlin Ann Konkel, Achievement Award; Trevor Starks, Arts and Sciences Excellence; Nanthanat Tongdaeng, Memorial Scholarship

Harper: Lacie Frances Darnell, Agriculture Enhancement and Harry H. Halbower, Jr. Memorial Scholarship; Cord Meyer Denton, Engineering Scholarship; Jennifer Nicole Kiser, Joseph T. and Ann L. Davis Memorial Scholarship and Raymond G. and Floreine G. Frye Scholarship; Jerred Lee McKee, Achievement Award; Tyler Zimmerman, Leslie H. Griswold Memorial Scholarship


Harvey County

Burrton: Katie Nicole Nightingale, K-State Alumni Association Legacy Scholarship and Palmquist Architecture and Design Scholarship

Halstead: Michael Lloyd Claussen, Engineering Scholarship; Rachel Marie Klassen, Engineering Scholarship and Foundation Scholarship; Samantha Dee Scharff, Salina Scholarship-Tuition and The Marian W. 'Dolly' Hardman Endowment

Hesston: Tyler Goevert, Medallion Scholarship and Second Century Scholarship; Lindsey Janzen, College of Education Scholarship and Tomorrow's Teacher Scholarship; Ryan Philip King, Jules H. Robert Memorial Scholarship and Medallion Scholarship; Ryan Burke Martin, Fairchild Scholarship; Jeffrey James-Clinton Norris, Business Administration Dean's Scholarship; Abbey Marie Pomeroy, Activity Scholarship

Newton: Aubrie Grace Adams, College of Education Scholarship and Nancy Glover Craig Education Scholarship; Owen Donald Beverlin, Activity Scholarship; Brian Busenitz, C.J. Hsu Engineering Scholarship and Engineering Scholarship; Ashley Denney, Arts and Sciences Excellence and Debate Scholarship; Sierra Noelle Dirksen, George and Mary Gephart Scholarship and Leadership Scholarship; Trevor Brooks Kaufman, Charles Freund Memorial Scholarship, Wildcat Construction Company, Inc. Scholarship and William R and Mila Kimel Engineering Scholarship; Bryant S Miller, Activity Scholarship; Gregory K Regier, Agricultural Economics Emeritus Faculty and Friends Scholarship; Erin Nicole Schneider, Jean Lawson Bottger Scholarship in Dietetics, Chrystiana Mae Voth, Borck Leadership Scholars and College of Education Scholarship; Janessa Diane Wedel, Engineering Scholarship and
Marsha Meili Engineering Scholarship

North Newton: Brandon Albin Vaverka, First in Class Scholarship

Sedgwick: Wade Carson Hansen, Achievement Award and First in Class Scholarship; Kirsten Renee Sooter, Activity Scholarship

Walton: Brett Voth, Transfer Scholarship


Haskell County

Satanta: Kyla Clawson, Arthur Capper Cooperative Center

Sublette: Nathaniel Leon Birney, First in Class Scholarship and Medallion Scholarship; Edgar Bustillos, Koch Impact Scholarships and Memorial Scholarship ; Eric Bustillos, Activity Scholarship and Memorial Scholarship; Kate Elizabeth Cearley, Finance Advisory Board Scholarship and The Maurice E. Fager Memorial Scholarship; Danny Gonzalez, Achievement Award and Memorial Scholarship; Hayes John Kelman, Charles D. Singelton Scholarship in Grain Science and Industry and Leadership Scholarship; Matthew Ryan Lower, Achievement Award; Alejandra Lucido, Memorial Scholarship; Brennen Elizabeth Menzie, Activity Scholarship and KSU Alumni Association Scholarship; Ellen Kaylee Miller, Medallion Scholarship; Zachary Ricketts, Engineering Scholarship; Lainie Rae Sjeklocha, K-State Alumni Association Legacy Scholarship and Wendell and Pauline Gardner Honors Scholarship; Lindsay Jordan Vannaman, Transfer Scholarship; Mallory Hope Weidner, College of Education Scholarship


Hodgeman County

Hanston: Katrina M Brown, Essie B. Schneider Memorial Scholarship

Jetmore: Kasey Renae Hayes, Activity Scholarship, Boot Hill K-State Alumni Scholarship and Earl H. Regnier Memorial Scholarship; Kyle Nuss, Smith Seckman Reid (SSR) Scholarship, Tointon Family Scholarship and Wayne Karl Memorial Scholarship in Engineering; Jennifer Ann Ochs, Activity Scholarship