Skip to the content

Kansas State University




Join us on facebook


Check out K-State on YouTube


News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.

News release prepared by: Julie Fosberg, 785-532-2535,
Note to editors: This list includes only the names of students who have received scholarships that total $1,000 or more. Recipients are listed by county and hometown. The complete scholarship list also is available at our website,

Wednesday, Dec. 8, 2010


MANHATTAN -- More than 8,500 Kansas State University students have been awarded academic scholarships for the 2010-2011 school year. In all, K-State students have received more than $16 million in scholarships.

Most of the scholarships are made possible through donations and gifts to the Kansas State University Foundation.

Information on K-State student financial assistance is available at

K-State students receiving scholarships totaling more than $1,000 include:



Geary County

Fort Riley: Annie Jo Bates, Transfer Scholarship; Janice M Borges, Memorial Scholarship; Kaitlin Mae Downing, Foundation Scholarship; McKenna Amber Farrell, Transfer Scholarship; Daniel Madsen, Dean's Choice Scholarship and Transfer Academic Scholarship; Lara Michelle Riviere, Memorial Scholarship; Cassandra Marie Townsend, Activity Scholarship

Junction City: Dilon Isaac Altwegg, Activity Scholarship and J. Gordon Auld and Raymond W. Olson Family Memorial Scholarship; Sarah Anne Bernard-Stevens, KSU Marching Band Scholarship, Marion H. Pelton Scholarship and The Caroline F. Peine Music Scholarship; Jonathan Taylor Colston, Rathbone Scholarship; Nicholas Anthony Corey, Allison Army ROTC Scholarship and Ivy Fuller Olds Scholarship in Military Science; Allison Marie Coy, College of Education Scholarship and Jellison Benevolent Society Scholarship; Bria Iyana Dansby, Activity Scholarship and Memorial Scholarship; Ashli Daphne Davis, Memorial Scholarship; Brittany Jonay Delaney, Memorial Scholarship; Taylor Baker Diehl, High Plains Engineering Technology Scholarship and National Science Fdn – Elite; Lauren Leigh Echevarria, Memorial Scholarship; Kyle Lee Foerschler, Engineering Scholarship, Foundation Scholarship and KSU Marching Band Scholarship; Alexander Robert Griffiths, Jellison Benevolent Society Scholarship; Yolonda Guyton, Memorial Scholarship, Vera M. Ellithorpe Scholarship in Human Ecology and Wesley A. Zellner Memorial Scholarship; Nathen Kozlowski, Achievement Award; Brittany Lynn Lanning, Memorial Scholarship and Mr. and Mrs. William G. Freeman Memorial Scholarship; Anthony Felipe Magallanes, Ivy Fuller Olds Scholarship in Military Science, Manhattan Mutual Life Insurance Company - James A. McCain Commemorative Scholarship, Lora E. Marietta Memorial Scholarship in Army ROTC and Memorial Scholarship; Charles Norman Matthews, Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship; Carianne Michelle McCabe, Grace Smith Ostenberg Memorial Scholarship; Miles Tre McCall, President's Scholarship; Michael John Poland, Jellison Benevolent Society Scholarship and John T Whetzel Scholarship; Anita Kay Pritchett, Crosby Family Education Scholarship and Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship; Joshua Giovanni Serrano, Allison Army ROTC Scholarship; Amanda Marie Smith, Transfer Scholarship; Cathy Marie Stage, Human Ecology Telefund Fund and Memorial Scholarship; eremy James Stenstrom, Jellison Benevolent Society Scholarship; Amanda Nichole Taylor, Business Administration Dean's Scholarship, Eva Ford Scholarship, Jellison Benevolent Society Scholarship and Memorial Scholarship; Dionysius Darnay Theres, Bruce A. Adams Army ROTC Scholarship; Laura Ivette Vallejo, KSU Theatre Fund; Kathleen Wilson, Engineering Scholarship, Foundation Scholarship and McDonald's Restaurants/Kansas Regents Honors Academy Scholarship; Jacob Christopher Wright, Memorial Scholarship and Ralph W. Reb Endowed Scholarship

Milford: Patrick Michael McElligott, Memorial Scholarship, Salina Scholarship-Flight and Salina Scholarship-Housing


Gove County

Grinnell: Allison Lerae Dohm, Taylor L. and Katherine C. Jones LMIC Scholarship; Drew Joseph Schoendaler, Cenex Foundation Scholarship and Tim Lim Undergraduate Scholarship in Agriculture

Park: Lucas Ochs, Coonrod Memorial Architectural Engineering Scholarship, Dane Hansen Foundation Scholarship, Max E. Foote Scholarship and Tointon Family Scholarship

Quinter: Zachary Warren Nemechek, Achievement Award


Graham County

Hill City: Emily Elizabeth Gansel, Activity Scholarship; Jordan Brian Vincent, Achievement Award


Grant County

Ulysses: Courtney Blake Cate, KSU Alumni Association Scholarship


Gray County

Cimarron: Trenton Lee Fairbank, C. Fred Samp Mechanical Engineering Scholarship, Engineering Scholarship, Howard Swanson Memorial Scholarship, Mechanical Engineering Excellence Fund and Muchnic Foundation Scholarship; Lindsay M Underwood, Dean's Choice Scholarship, KSU Alumni Association Scholarship and Transfer Scholarship

Copeland: Heather Nicole Gibson, Charles W. and Lois H. Nauheim 4-H Scholarship; Megan Michelle Gibson, College of Education Scholarship

Ingalls: Savannah Elizabeth Dwyre, Engineering Scholarship, Frances Fyfe Scholarship and Opportunity Scholarship; Emily Rae Hoskinson, Engineering Scholarship and Foundation Scholarship

Montezuma: Weston Joe Koehn, The Virginial N. Gibson Scholarship for Horticulture; Marisa Rene Love, Foundation Scholarship


Greeley County

Tribune: Mackenzi Rashelle Bender, Activity Scholarship; Zachary Allen Kail, Engineering Scholarship; Ruddy Yanez, Activity Scholarship and Memorial Scholarship


Greenwood County

Eureka: Kelsie Jordan Ball, Clifford and Thelma Joslin Memorial Scholarship, Edith L. Stunkel Endowed Assistantship and Grace D. Brill Scholarship; Wyatt Louis Bechtel, Genny and Lowell Brandner Scholarship and Goppert Foundation Scholarship in Agriculture; Joseph Adam Shaw, Civil Engineering Excellence Scholarship, Phebe Bissell Memorial Scholarship in Engineering and Tointon Family Scholarship

Hamilton: Shelby Nicole Buster, Achievement Award; Tina Lee Ratcliff, Dean's Choice Scholarship, Foundation Scholarship and KSU Alumni Association Scholarship

Lamont: Andrew James McVey, Achievement Award

Madison: Alleda Marie McClelland, KSU Alumni Association Scholarship and Opportunity Scholarship; Henry Lamont Ott, Charles D. Singelton Scholarship in Grain Science and Industry, KSU Alumni Association Scholarship and Leadership Scholarship