Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. June news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Joe Montgomery, 785-532-6415,

Friday, June 17, 2011


MANHATTAN -- Thirteen Kansas State University students are among a select group of veterinary students receiving the Pfizer Animal Health Student Scholar Award for their outstanding contributions to the veterinary profession and to the well-being and medical care of animals.

The scholarship was presented to 300 second- and third-year students from the 28 U.S. and three Caribbean schools of veterinary medicine. The scholars cumulatively receive $750,000 in scholarships.

Selected to receive the honor from K-State's College of Veterinary Medicine are the following students:

Kellie Allen, third-year veterinary medicine student, Edna.

From Manhattan: Brooks Butler, third-year veterinary medicine student; Ji Hyon Lee, fourth-year veterinary medicine student; Heidi Morey, fourth-year veterinary medicine student; Becca Pheasant, fourth-year veterinary medicine student; and Clayton Thorson, fourth-year veterinary medicine student.

From out of state:

Jenna Krohn, third-year veterinary medicine student, Gold Canyon, Ariz.; Philip Allen, third-year veterinary medicine student, Glendale, Calif.; Jennifer Gih, third-year veterinary medicine student, Panorama City, Calif.; Robert Hainline, third-year veterinary medicine student, Santa Ana, Calif.; Jennifer Darby, fourth-year veterinary medicine student, Palm Coast, Fla.; Ryan Tollefsrud, fourth-year veterinary medicine student, Spicer, Minn.; and Carolyn Yang, third-year veterinary medicine student, Alexandria, Va.