Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. June news releases
Print This Article  


News release prepared by: Emily Vietti, 785-532-1090,

Friday, June 3, 2011


MANHATTAN -- A paper by a new Kansas State University regional and community planning graduate is being recognized for excellence.

Erica Besler, Evergreen, Colo., a May 2011 master's graduate of K-State's College of Architecture, Planning and Design, has been selected by APDesign to receive this year's ARCC/King Student Medal for Excellence in Architectural and Environmental Research. Besler received the award for her master's report, "Measuring Locational Equity and Accessibility of Neighborhood Parks in Kansas City, Missouri."

One student from each discipline in the college is selected to compete for the award, and the winner is determined by a jury.

"I am pleased to see the ARCC/King Medal competition serving as a forum to promote the significant design-research efforts of our students and their faculty advisers," said Tim de Noble, dean of the College of Architecture, Planning and Design. "This serves to increase the efficacy of applied design thinking."

Also nominated for the award were:

Kyle Ward, May 2011 master's graduate in landscape architecture, Hutchinson, for "The Detroit East Riverwalk: Extend.Connect.Provide."; and Lydia Palma, May 2011 master's graduate in interior architecture and product design, Topeka, for "Swingin' Off Your Rocker."

From out of state: Kyle White, May 2011 master's graduate in architecture, Newburg, Mo., for "The Learning Suite: Creating Environments for Autistic Children."

The jury described Besler's report as very methodical and logical, and as the most academic of the projects reviewed. The jury also called it "well-done, hypothesis-driven work."

Named in honor of Jonathan King, co-founder and first president of the Architectural Research Centers Consortium, the ARCC/King Student Medal is given to one student per consortium-member college per year. Selection is based upon criteria that acknowledge innovation, integrity, and scholarship in architectural and/or environmental design research.