Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. July news releases

Source: Julia Keen, 785-532-3575,;
and Fred Hasler, 785-532-5964,
Note to editor: Kelly Griffith is a graduate of Gardner-Edgerton High School.
News release prepared by: Beth Bohn, 785-532-6415,

Wednesday, July 15, 2009


MANHATTAN -- A team of architectural engineering students from Kansas State University is a first-place winner in the 2009 Student Design Competition sponsored by the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers.

The K-State team took the title in the systems selection category. The competition featured student teams from across the U.S. and the world. K-State has now claimed first or second in the competition four times in the last five years, including a first-place finish in 2007.

"Our winning tradition continues and is a tribute to the faculty advisers, professors Julia Keen and Fred Hasler, and the quality of education our students receive in architectural engineering at K-State," said Dave Fritchen, head of the department of architectural engineering and construction science. Keen and Hasler are both assistant professors of architectural engineering and construction science.

Students on the K-State team include James Newman, senior in architectural engineering, Hoxie; Kelly Griffith, senior in architectural engineering, Manhattan; Darren Rottinghaus, May 2009 bachelor's graduate in architectural engineering, Seneca; and Phil Podlasek, May 2009 bachelor's graduate in architectural engineering, Shawnee.

"All teams competing in the systems selection category were asked to analyze and select heating, air-conditioning and ventilation systems for an office/retail building," Hasler said. "Drawings and details of the building were given to them by ASHRAE."

In the systems selection category, teams were evaluated on such selection criteria as life cycle cost, environmental impact, comfort and health, green design, synergy with architecture and communication of their results, Keen said.

For the win, the team receives $1,500. A team representative also will receive free transportation, two nights lodging and $100 expenses to attend the society's 2010 winter meeting in Orlando, Fla., where the award will be presented.

The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers sponsors the design project competition to encourage students to become involved in the dynamic profession, to apply their knowledge to practical design use, and to promote teamwork.