Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. Media Relations >
  3. January news releases
Print This Article  

News release prepared by: Katie Mayes, 785-532-6415,

Friday, Jan. 30, 2009


MANHATTAN -- Sabbatical leaves are being granted to 39 Kansas State University faculty members in the 2009-2010 school year. The purpose and length of each leave varies, with some faculty members using the time for research projects in the U.S. or internationally, to teach at other institutions or for other academic pursuits.

Faculty members being granted sabbatical leave include:

David Andrus, professor of marketing; Lynda Andrus, professor of art; David Auckly, professor of mathematics; Glen Brown, professor of art; Amit Chakrabarti, professor of physics; John Crespi, associate professor of agricultural economics; Torry Dickinson, professor of women's studies; Ike Ehie, associate professor of management; Jacqueline Fassler-Kerstetter, associate professor of music; Carolyn Ferguson, associate professor of biology; Sherry Haar, associate professor of apparel, textiles and interior design; John Harrington Jr., professor of geography; Derek Hillard, associate professor of modern languages; James Shawn Hutchinson, associate professor of geography; Stacy Lewis Hutchinson, associate professor of biological and agricultural engineering; Dennis Law, dean of the College of Architecture, Planning and Design and professor of landscape architecture and regional and community planning; David Littrell, university distinguished professor of music; John Maginnis, associate professor of mathematics; Brent Maner, associate professor of history; Martha Murphy, instructor, Extension nutrition program in Crawford County.

Mark Parillo, associate professor of history; Dunja Peric, associate professor of civil engineering; Anne Phillips, associate professor of English; Louis Pigno, professor and head of the department of mathematics; Om Prakash, professor of biochemistry; Alexander Ramm, professor of mathematics; N. Sanjay Rebello, associate professor of physics; Brett Sandercock, associate professor of biology; Silvia Sauter, professor of modern languages; Dragoslav Simic, associate professor of architecture; Charlene Simser, professor, K-State Libraries; Iakov Soibelman, professor of mathematics; Lloyd Thomas, professor and head of the department of economics; Tracy Margo Turner, associate professor of economics; Virgil Wallentine, professor and head of the department of computing and information sciences; Dennis Weisman, professor of economics; Frank White, professor of plant pathology; Stephen White, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and professor of geography; and Sue Zschoche, associate professor and chair of the department of history.