Skip to the content

Kansas State University




Join us on facebook


Check out K-State on YouTube


News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. February news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Tamara Bauer, 785-532-6237,

Tuesday, Feb. 2, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University has selected the recipients of the university's 2010 Civic Leadership Scholarships.

Eleven high school seniors were selected as finalists and competed in an on-campus interview and recognition day Jan. 21. The competition rewards students who are making a difference and demonstrating creativity by developing projects and programs with a lasting impact on those they serve. Summaries of each finalist's civic engagement work are available at

John Carlin, former Kansas governor and a K-State political science and leadership studies professor, served as honorary chair of the K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship competition. Carlin provided a supportive voice to all the finalists, said Tamara Bauer, associate coordinator of K-State's new student services.

Farm Bureau Financial Services contributes funding for three top scholarship awards -- $4,000 for first place, $2,500 for second place and $2,000 for third place. Scholarship recipients may renew the scholarship with a 3.33 cumulative grade point average for up to three additional years as Wicks Civic Leadership Scholars. Finalists who were not awarded one of the top three scholarships received $500 scholarships, also supported by Farm Bureau Financial Services.

Recipients, their hometown, scholarship amount and high school, include:

Jena Sauber, Assaria, $2,500 second place, Southeast of Saline Senior High School; Alexsis Fleener, Greensburg, Greensburg High School, $2,000 third place; Jennifer Smisek, Kansas City, Kan., $500 finalist, Lansing High School; Christina Picicci, Lawrence, $500 finalist, Lawrence High School; Brock Burnick, Mulberry, $500 finalist, Girard High School; Abby Guenther, Ottawa, $500 finalist, Ottawa High School; Amanda Privitera, Overland Park, $500 finalist, Shawnee Mission East High School; Mollie Stephens, Pittsburg, $500 finalist, Pittsburg High School; Chandra Devine, Seward, $500 finalist, Macksville High School; and Reagan Kays, Weir, $4,000 first place, St. Marys-Colgan High School.

From out of state: Courtney Cook, Fremont, Neb., $500 finalist, Archbishop Bergan Catholic School.