Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. February news releases
Print This Article  


Sources: Pat Bosco, 785-532-6237,;
and Tamara Bauer, 785-532-7091,
News release prepared by: Katie Mayes, 785-532-6415,

Thursday, Feb. 18, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University has awarded more than $200,000 in scholarships to 19 outstanding high school seniors from Kansas, including two recipients of the largest scholarship in Kansas.

K-State received nearly 500 applications for the $80,000 President's Excellence Scholarship and the $5,000 Kassebaum Scholarship. Nineteen finalists were interviewed Jan. 25 and all received scholarship assistance for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Laura Rogers, Clyde, a senior at Clifton-Clyde High School, and Benjamin Harstine, Towanda, a senior at Circle High School, each received the President's Excellence Scholarship. This is the first year for the scholarship, which covers all costs associated with the student's schooling. The initial scholarship is $20,000. It may be renewed for up to four years with a minimum 3.5 grade point average, making its total worth $80,000 per student.

Selection for the President's Excellence Scholarship is based on academic excellence, high ACT scores and the student's involvement in leadership and extracurricular activities.

"I am proud to recognize the work of such high-caliber students," said K-State President Kirk Schulz. "This scholarship is an affirmation of their leadership and dedication, and I am looking forward to the valuable contributions they'll make while at K-State."

Pat Bosco, vice president for student life and dean of students at K-State, said the President's Excellence Scholarship is the largest scholarship in Kansas and was created to help make K-State even more competitive in attracting the best and brightest students to the university.

"We've attracted wonderfully gifted students each fall who have chosen K-State despite major scholarship offers from other schools, but we've also lost bright students who simply cannot attend without financial help," Bosco said. "This scholarship enables us to properly recognize the very best students in the state."

Six students received the $5,000 Kassebaum Scholarship and 11 were awarded $1,000 as finalists for the scholarship.

Named in honor of Nancy Landon Kassebaum-Baker, the former U.S. senator from Kansas, the Kassebaum Scholarship recognizes students who have shown potential for success in a variety of areas, including academics, leadership, community service, performing arts, research, political activity, forensics, debate and athletics.

K-State Kassebaum scholars and finalists, their scholarship amount and their high school include:

Kim Peterson, Basehor, St. James Academy, $1,000; Macy Warburton, Cedar Vale, Cedar Vale Memorial High School, $1,000; Casey Zimmerman, Concordia, Concordia High School, $5,000 Kassebaum Scholarship; and Kathryn Scherich, Emporia, Emporia High School, $1,000.

From Greater Kansas City: Samantha Kellerman, Leawood, Bishop Miege High School, $1,000; Emily Miller, Lenexa, Shawnee Mission West High School, $5,000 Kassebaum Scholarship; Taylor Marlow, Olathe, Olathe South High School, $1,000; Rutvik Date, Overland Park, Blue Valley Northwest High School, $1,000; Allison Walter, Shawnee, Bishop Miege High School, $1,000; and Grant Meyer, Stilwell, Blue Valley High School, $5,000 Kassebaum Scholarship.

Mason Grittman, Hoyt, Seaman High School, $5,000 Kassebaum Scholarship; James Arpin, Hutchinson, Buhler High School, $1,000; Savannah Dwyre, Ingalls, Ingalls High School, $1,000; Lauren Barnes, Ottawa, Baldwin High School, $5,000 Kassebaum Scholarship; Tyler Johnson, Parsons, Parsons High School, $5,000 Kassebaum Scholarship; Luke Southard, Pratt, Pratt High School, $1,000; and Jonathan Broeckelman, Selden, Golden Plains High School, $1,000.