Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. Media Relations >
  3. February news releases
Print This Article  

Source: Melissa Linenberger, 785-532-4392,
News release prepared by: Katie Mayes, 785-532-6415,

Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2009


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University is promoting 17 faculty members to the rank of full professor and 24 faculty members to the rank of associate professor with tenure. In addition, one faculty member has been granted tenure and one has been promoted to associate professor.

K-State's President Jon Wefald has approved the promotions and tenure, which go into effect July 1.

Promoted to full professor include: Michael Apley, clinical sciences; Charles Barden, horticulture, forestry and recreation resources; Louise Benjamin, journalism and mass communications; Timothy Dayton, English; Brad DeBey, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Briana Nelson Goff, family studies and human services; Wayne Goins, music; Eric Higgins, finance; Marianne Korten, mathematics; James Neill, statistics; Jung Oh, arts, sciences and business; Charlotte Shoup Olsen, family studies and human services; Zhijian Pei, industrial and manufacturing systems engineering; Jeffrey Pickering, political science; Michael Sanderson, clinical sciences; Bruce Schultz, anatomy and physiology; and Youqi Wang, mechanical and nuclear engineering.

Promoted to associate professor with tenure are: Patricia Ackerman, arts, sciences and business; Frederick Burrack, music; Leslie Hannah, arts, sciences and business; Peggy Honey, apparel, textiles and interior design; Amy Hubbell, modern languages; Laszlo Kulcsar, sociology, anthropology and social work; Sandra LaPointe, philosophy; Mark Linville, accounting; Jonathan Mahoney, philosophy; Phillip Marzluf, English; L. Tonatiuh Melgarejo, human nutrition; Thomas Mertz, engineering technology; Venkata Vara Prasad Pagadala, agronomy; David Renter, diagnostic medicine and pathobiology; Robby, computing and information sciences; Donald Saucier, psychology; D. Kimball Smith, English; Kay Ann Taylor, special education, counseling and student affairs; Iris Totten, geology; Benjamin Torrico, modern languages; Thomas Vontz, elementary education; Donald Wilson, philosophy; Raphael Yunk, architectural engineering and construction science; and Jeffrey Zacharakis, educational leadership.

In addition, K.C. Olson, associate professor of animal sciences and industry, was granted tenure, and Craig Paukert, biology, was promoted to associate professor.