Skip to the content

Kansas State University




Join us on facebook


Check out K-State on YouTube


News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.
  1. K-State Home >
  2. Media Relations >
  3. February news releases
Print This Article  

Sources: Blake Belanger, 785-532-1096,;
and Stephanie Rolley, 785-532-2444,
News release prepared by: Katie Mayes, 785-532-6415,

Thursday, Feb. 26, 2009


MANHATTAN -- Seventeen landscape architecture students from Kansas State University's College of Architecture, Planning and Design are displaying their plans for development of downtown Kansas City, Mo., in Seaton Hall's Chang Gallery through March 6.

The gallery is open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays and admission is free.

The "KC11" exhibition, named for the 11 distinct neighborhoods in the greater downtown area of Kansas City, is a display of ideas developed by landscape architecture students who took part in a 2008 summer studio. Students met with community leaders and planners, and also talked with residents and mapped the areas. They developed more than a dozen designs addressing three major issues: connection, infrastructure and identity.

The students' projects encourage biking and walking, use storm water as an asset, take into account the impact of light rail and development that may follow, emphasize the importance of green space and sustainable design, and look at how infill development might add to the mix.

Students with projects on display, all master's students in landscape architecture, include:

Andy Schaap, Abilene; Jess Benedick, Beloit; Jon Champlin, Cedar Vale; Amanda White, Garnett; Steven Holt, Highland; Andrew Glenski, Leawood; Chris Enroth, Wes Essmiller and Mike Weber, all of Manhattan; and Ryan Debold, Salina.

From out of state: Kris Kleinschmidt, Sarasota, Fla.; Kim Moss, Cumming, Ga.; Emily Hoffmann, Dixon, Iowa; Megan Bryan, Florissant, Mo.; Aaron Mitchell, Kansas City, Mo.; Wendy Wert, Pacific, Mo.; and Christie Murman, Glenvil, Neb.