Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. Media Relations >
  3. February news releases
Print This Article  

Source: Tamara Bauer, 785-532-6237,
News release prepared by: Katie Mayes, 785-532-6415,

Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2009


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University has awarded Kassebaum Scholarships to eight high school seniors from Kansas, Nebraska and Missouri.

K-State received 200 applications, and a selection committee chose 16 finalists to interview. Of those interviewed, eight students were chosen to receive $5,000 scholarships. The remaining finalists each received $500. The scholarship competition was Jan. 26.

Named in honor of former Kansas Sen. Nancy Kassebaum-Baker, the scholarship recognizes students who have shown the potential for success in a variety of areas including academics, leadership, community service, performing arts, research, political activity, forensics, debate and athletics.

K-State's 2009 Kassebaum Scholarship winners and finalists, hometowns and high schools include:

Kyle Reynolds, Andover, finalist, Andover Central High School; Ben Detrixhe, Clyde, finalist, Clifton-Clyde High School; Christina Burkemper, Derby, winner, Kapaun Mount Carmel Catholic High School.

From Greater Kansas City: Marcus Bragg, Kansas City, Kan., finalist, Sumner Academy Arts and Sciences; Melissa McKittrick, Mission Hills, winner, Shawnee Mission East High School; Nate Bozarth, Olathe, finalist, Olathe North High School; Jacob New, winner, Blue Valley Northwest High School, Liam Reilly, finalist, Shawnee Mission West High School, and Elizabeth Sims, winner, Olathe East High School, all of Overland Park.

Brandon Stucky, Garden City, finalist, Garden City High School; Drew Hansen, finalist, Shawnee Heights Senior High School, and Kelly Zachariasen, winner, Seaman High School, both of Topeka; Mattithyah Tillotson, Valley Center, winner, Fredric Remington High School; and Rachel King, Wichita, winner, Kapaun Mount Carmel Catholic High School.

From out of state: Nicole Mater, Fenton, Mo., finalist, Rockwood Summit High School; and Sophia Dongilli, Lincoln, Neb., winner, Pius X High School.