Skip to the content

Kansas State University




Join us on facebook


Check out K-State on YouTube


News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.
  1. K-State Home >
  2. Media Relations >
  3. February news releases
Print This Article  

Source: Tamara Bauer, 785-532-6237,
News release prepared by: Katie Mayes, 785-532-6415,

Tuesday, Feb. 3, 2009


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University recently selected 13 high school seniors as finalists for the K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship, presented by Farm Bureau Financial Services.

The finalists competed in an on-campus interview and recognition day Jan. 22. The competition rewards students who make a commitment to serving others in their communities and who develop projects and programs with a lasting impact.

John Carlin, former governor of Kansas and now a K-State political science professor, was honorary chair of the K-State Civic Leadership Scholarship competition.

Farm Bureau Financial Services contributed funding for the three top scholarship awards, which included $4,000 for first place, $2,500 for second place and $2,000 for third place. The three top scholarship recipients may renew their awards for up to three additional years as Wicks Civic Leadership Scholars by maintaining a 3.33 cumulative grade point average.

Other finalists received $500 scholarships, also supported by Farm Bureau Financial Services.

Recipients, their hometown, scholarship amount and high school include:

Kristi Hargadine, Assaria, $500 finalist, Southeast of Saline High School; Bobbi Ann Shanks, Columbus, $500 finalist, Columbus Unified High School; Andrew Strasburg, Elk City, $500 finalist, Fredonia High School; Mitch Loring, Gardner, $500 finalist, Gardner Edgerton High School; Allison Straub, Hays, $2,000 third place, Hays High School; Laurissa Beckman, $500 finalist, and Genna Stambaugh, $500 finalist, both of Louisburg and both of Louisburg High School; Aaron Bean, Luray, $500 finalist, Thomas Moore Prep-Marian; Eli Logan, Manhattan, $4,000 first place, Manhattan High School; Nathan Farris, $500 finalist, Kansas City Christian Academy, and Meg Swagerty, $500 finalist, Shawnee Mission North High School, both of Overland Park.

From out of state: Shelia Fogh, Vacaville, Calif., $500 finalist, Vacaville Christian High School; and Alana Rhone, Texarkana, Texas, $2,500 second place, Texas High School.