Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. November news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Chelsea Corkins,

Thursday, Dec. 2, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Four Kansas State University juniors are earning scholarships from the university's chapter of Mortar Board, the national college senior honor society. The chapter also is honoring 12 K-State faculty and staff members for their work and dedication in improving student success.

Receiving Mortar Board's Linda Henry and Sam Kruckenberg Outstanding Junior Scholarships, each worth $500, are Hazen Short, biology major from Manhattan, and Jake New, food science and industry major from Overland Park. Juniors receiving $100 book scholarships from Mortar Board are Tom Chaffee, social sciences major, and Michael Ellis, biology major, both from Overland Park.

Faculty and staff earning recognition from Mortar Board for exemplifying the organization's pillars of scholarship, leadership and service in their work with students include:

Rachel Allbaugh, assistant professor of clinical sciences; Fadi Aramouni, professor of food science; Anita Cortez, administrative director of the Developing Scholars Program; Douglas Dow, assistant professor of art history; Mike Finnegan, instructor of leadership studies; Stacy Hutchinson, associate professor of biological and agricultural engineering; Carol Kellett, professor of family studies and human services; Lotta Larson, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction; Dennis Law, professor of landscape architecture and regional and community planning; Emily Lehning, assistant vice president for student life and director of new student services; Tim Steffensmeier, assistant professor of communication studies; and Amir Tavakkol, associate professor of finance.

The K-State Mortar Board chapter has been honoring outstanding faculty and staff since 2000.