Skip to the content

Kansas State University




Join us on facebook


Check out K-State on YouTube


News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.
  1. K-State Home >
  2. Media Relations >
  3. April news releases

Source: LeAnn Meyer, 785-532-3670,

Friday, April 24, 2009


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University's K-State Volunteer Center of Manhattan has partnered with Community First National Bank to present the Inspire by Example awards for service in the community.

The awards recognize the tradition of volunteerism at K-State and the skills displayed by faculty, students and staff to meet community needs. Based on nominations received, four awards are presented annually to a K-State student, staff member, faculty member and student group. Each recipient receives a plaque and $250, donated by Community First National Bank; recipients then donate the cash award to the social service agency of their choice.

The 2009 honorees and their award include:

* Robert Gomez, senior in elementary education, Shawnee, Outstanding Student Volunteer. Gomez is receiving the award for his dedication to Wonder Workshop, an after-school program for area youth; coaching youth soccer; and his work with K-State's Developing Scholars Program.

* Jacque Gibbons, associate professor of social work, Outstanding Faculty Service. Gibbons is being honored for his efforts with social work students and as a mental health responder for the American Red Cross.

* Delta Lambda Phi fraternity, Outstanding Student Organization. The fraternity is being recognized for service to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and wider community.

The fourth award, Outstanding Staff Member, will be announced at the annual volunteer recognition ceremony for all of the recipients Monday, April 27.

More information on the awards and previous recipients is available online at: