Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. Media Relations >
  3. April news releases

Source: Jeff Hornsby, 785-532-4364,
Web site:

Wednesday, April 29, 2009


MANHATTAN -- Several local entrepreneurs and Kansas State University faculty and staff members have earned honors from K-State's Center for the Advancement of Entrepreneurship.

The center, at its inaugural Celebration of Entrepreneurship banquet April 24, recognized several individuals for their support, advocacy and leadership in entrepreneurial efforts at K-State.

"Entrepreneurship is truly a cross-campus effort at K-State," said Jeff Hornsby, the Jack Vanier Chair of Innovation and Entrepreneurship and director of the K-State Center for the Advancement of Entrepreneurship. "It takes the support and leadership of many individuals to launch a center such as the Center for the Advancement of Entrepreneurship. The individuals recognized by these awards have shown by their selfless commitment to the entrepreneurial process that we can become a great entrepreneurial campus."

The honorees and awards included:

* Mark Knackendoffel, Manhattan Trust Company, as the Community Entrepreneur of the Year. The award is sponsored by the Manhattan Area Chamber of Commerce.

* Mike Apley, director of K-State's PharmCATS Bioanalytical Laboratory, and Gary Anderson, director of K-State's Veterinary Diagnostic Lab, were named the Emerging Faculty Entrepreneurs of the Year. The award is sponsored by the K-State Commercialization Leadership Council.

* Entrepreneurial Support Awards were presented to K-State's Jon Wefald, university president; Fred Cholick, dean of the College of Agriculture; Ruth Dyer, associate provost; Brian Niehoff, head of the department of management; Bret Lanz, marketing and development manager at the Advanced Manufacturing Institute; and Suzanne Auten, administrative assistant to the K-State provost.

Entrepreneurship Advocacy Awards were presented to John Graham, professor of finance and executive in residence at K-State's College of Business Administration; Dave Dreiling, founder and owner of GTM Sportswear, Manhattan; Phil Howe, chief executive officer of Kansas State Bank; Yar Ebadi, dean of K-State's College of Business Administration; and Duane Nellis, K-State provost and senior vice president.