1. K-State home
  2. »DCM
  3. »K-State News
  4. »News
  5. »2013
  6. »Sophomore leadership honorary selects members for 2013-2014

K-State News

K-State News
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
1525 Mid-Campus Dr North
Manhattan, KS 66506

785-532-7355 fax

Sophomore leadership honorary selects members for 2013-2014

Tuesday, April 16, 2013



MANHATTAN -- Silver Key, the sophomore leadership honorary at Kansas State University, has new members for the 2013-2014school year.

To be eligible for Silver Key, students must have at least a 3.0 grade point average, be high school graduates from 2012 and be in their freshman year at the university. Silver Key provides service to the campus and the surrounding Manhattan community. Members organize and participate in a variety of community service projects each semester. Past projects have included Sleep Out for the Homeless, food drives, highway cleanup efforts, and providing child care to Fort Riley families.

The following students, all who will be sophomores, are new members of Silver Key for the 2013-2014 school year:

Matt Kelso, animal sciences and industry, Eudora; Justin Haun, pre-professional elementary education, Fredonia; Morgan Gauby, business administration, Great Bend.

From Greater Kansas City: Sophia Hitchcock, nutritional sciences, and Katherine Sensenich, microbiology, both from Leawood; Sarah Brill, pre-professional elementary education, Lenexa; Emily Frye, general engineering, and Christa McKittrick, business administration, both from Mission Hills; Katie Ahern, communication sciences and disorders, Jack Brekke, arts and sciences-open option; Emily Ewert, biology, Sarah Gittemeier, general engineering, Rebekah Nyman, pre-professional secondary education, and Jonathan Slaney, business administration, all from Overland Park; Abby McNitt, biology, Prairie Village; and Caleb Amundson, environmental design, Jill Applegate, environmental design, Abby Hill, communication sciences and disorders, Jessica Leichter, pre-professional elementary education, Rachel Londeen, pre-professional elementary education, and Amanda Morgan, pre-professional elementary education, all from Shawnee.

Katie Kimmel, bakery science and management, Hutchinson; Sarah Krueger, animal sciences and industry, Lebo; Shayla McElyea, freshman in biology, Louisburg; Kaitlyn Rippel, arts and sciences-open option, Maize; Sophia Tolentino, anthropology, Manhattan; Alex Smith, kinesiology, Mankato; Michaela Gleason, nutritional sciences, Meade; Ronnie Sullivan, agribusiness, Paola; Cheyenne Becker, kinesiology, Pratt; Abby Meyer, nutritional sciences, Sabetha; Sydney Ho, pre-professional secondary education, and Avery Simecka, arts and sciences-open option, both from Topeka; and Kelsie Hoss, animal sciences and industry, Weskan.

From out of state: Emily Stolfus, pre-professional elementary education, St. Joseph, Mo.; and Jacob Wourms, business administration, Beavercreek, Ohio.


Carla Jones


Silver Key

News tip

Eudora,Fredonia, Great Bend, Hutchinson, Leawood, Lebo, Lenexa, Louisburg, Maize, Manhattan, Mankato, Meade, Mission Hills, Overland Park, Paola, Prairie Village, Pratt, Sabetha, Shawnee, Topeka and Weskan, Kan.; St. Joseph, Mo.; and Beavercreek, Ohio

At a glance

More than 30 freshmen have been selected as members of Silver Key, the sophomore leadership honorary, for the 2013-2014 school year.