Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. April news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Kari Nap, 785-532-6250,
Note to editor: Christopher Meyers is a graduate of St. Thomas Aquinas High School, Overland Park; and Derrik Wiggins is a graduate of Olathe North High School.
News release prepared by: Rosie Hoefling, 785-532-2535,

Monday, April 18, 2011


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University chapter of Mortar Board, a national senior honorary, has its new members for the 2011-2012 academic year.

Mortar Board members are selected in the spring semester of their junior year. Membership is determined by the candidate's demonstration of exemplary service, scholarship, leadership and a minimum 3.0 GPA.

Members of the honorary are dedicated to providing service to the K-State campus, community and the state of Kansas. Past Mortar Board service projects have included creating an advice booklet for incoming freshmen students and participating in the honorary's national initiative, Reading is Leading, which raises money to buy books for schools and day care facilities. Members also host a reception each year to honor select faculty members for their achievements in teaching, advising or mentoring K-State students.

Advisers for K-State's chapter of Mortar Board include Candi Hironaka, senior associate director of the School of Leadership Studies; Tamara Bauer, student services and communication coordinator of the School of Leadership Studies; Jessica Heath, master's student in counseling and student development, Manhattan; and Kari Nap, a K-State and Mortar Board alumna.

New members of Mortar Board for 2011-2012 include:

Austin Enns, history and economics, Buhler; Abby Bauer, kinesiology, Clay Center; Phuoc Bui, microbiology, Dodge City; Connor Hartpence, microbiology, Eudora.

From Greater Kansas City: Hanna Wiltfong, mass communications, Kansas City, Mo.; Lauren Beeman, marketing, Lenexa; Christopher Meyers, finance, and Derrik Wiggins, sociology, both from Olathe; Erica Blackford, communication sciences and disorder, Tom Chaffee, social sciences, Jessica Everhart, accounting, Lauren Ewald, landscape architecture, Brooke Lindell, secondary education, Anne McClain, secondary education, Michael McIntire, geology, Zachary Nelson, marketing, Jake New, food science and industry, and Sarah Satterlee, elementary education, all from Overland Park; Stephanie Larson, elementary education, Jay Timmerman, management, and Kelsey White, fine arts, all from Shawnee.

Jennifer Heim, life sciences, Hoxie.

From Hutchinson: Josh Neufeld, biology; Brennen Richman, biology; and Taylor Veh, microbiology.

Audra Walker, industrial engineering, Lawrence; Megan Coffroth, biology, Louisburg.

From Manhattan: Daniel Hornsby, English; Trevor McCarty, biology; and Wes Strouts, microbiology.

Christopher Dolezal, biological systems engineering, Valley Center.

From out of state: Klaire Jorgensen, agricultural economics, Exeter, Neb.; and Callie Erickson, communication studies, Papillion, Neb.