Skip to the content

Kansas State University




Join us on facebook


Check out K-State on YouTube


News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. April news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Carla Jones, 785-532-7305,
Note to editor: Nathaniel Bozarth and Joyce Chen are graduates of Olathe North High School; Christina Farmer is a graduate of St. Thomas Aquinas High School; Ashley Franden and Courtney Schmitz are graduates of Olathe South High School; and Taylor Svec is a graduate of Olathe East High School.
News release prepared by: Rosie Hoefling, 785-532-2535,

Monday, April 26, 2010


MANHATTAN -- Kansas State University's sophomore leadership honorary, Silver Key, has news members for the 2010-2011 school year.

To be eligible for Silver Key, students must have at least a 3.0 grade point average. The new initiates also had to be 2009 high school graduates and currently in their freshman year at K-State. Silver Key provides service to the K-State campus and the surrounding Manhattan community. Members organize and participate in a variety of community service projects each semester. Past projects have included food drives, highway cleanup efforts and providing childcare for Fort Riley families.

K-State students selected as 2010-2011 Silver Key members, who will all be sophomores, include:

Trevor Starks, political science, Anthony; Morgan Lindsay, agribusiness, Brookville; Sarah Stueder, life sciences, Claflin; Jason Ott, general agricultural, Coffeyville; Courtney Frantz, family studies and human services, Derby; Andrew Strasburg, agribusiness and agricultural communications and journalism, Elk City.

From Greater Kansas City: Calvin Heinz, business administration, and Sarah Miller, biology, both from Leawood; Nathaniel Bozarth, agronomy, Joyce Chen, wildlife and conservation biology, Christina Farmer, hotel and restaurant management, Ashley Franden, social work, and Courtney Schmitz, family studies and human services, all from Olathe; Andrea Sisk, interior design, Aaron Smith, arts and sciences-open option, Taylor Svec, kinesiology, Margaret Swagerty, secondary education, and Natalie Truman, chemical engineering, all from Overland Park; Maureen Orth, English, Prairie Village; Carolyn Gatewood, secondary education, and Andrew Waldman, industrial engineering, both from Shawnee; and Tyler Vollick, biology, Stilwell.

Emilie Taylor, biology, Lansing; Jamie Briscoe, animal sciences and industry, Lincoln; Mariah Charland, kinesiology, Grant Hill, engineering, and Elias Logan, architecture, all from Manhattan; Paul Harris, biology, Pratt; Jordan Fief, arts and sciences-open option, Salina; Kelly Zachariasen, biology, Topeka; Kristen McCormick, biology, Valley Center; Johnathan Yarrow, pre-journalism and mass communications, Wakefield; Cassandra Kniebal, animal sciences and industry, White City; and Rachel King, political science, Wichita.

From out of state: Madeline Sapyta, interior design, Highlands Ranch, Colo.; Lindsey Wilson, agribusiness, Amoret, Mo.; and Lauren Geiger, animal sciences and industry, Mound City, Mo.