Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
  1. K-State Home >
  2. News Services >
  3. April news releases
Print This Article  


Source: Kristin Mortenson,
News release prepared by: Nellie Ryan, 785-532-2535,

Thursday, April 29, 2010


MANHATTAN -- The department of music at Kansas State University has honored several students for excellence.

The students were recognized at the department's recent annual Honors Recital. Awards presented included the Presser Undergraduate Scholar Award, the department's highest student honor; Lloyd W. Muir Memorial Music Scholarship; K-State chapter awards from Sigma Alpha Iota international music fraternity and Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia; and winners of the department's annual Honors Recital.

Also recognized were new members of Pi Kappa Lambda music honor society, as well as the honorary's outstanding freshman, sophomore, junior and graduating senior music majors. Membership in the society is open to music majors who are juniors, seniors or graduate students. Juniors must rank in the top 10 percent of their class; graduating seniors must have outstanding scholarly achievement and musicianship and rank in the top 20 percent of their class; and graduate students must have an A in at least two-thirds of their graduate credit classes.

Students earning recognition and their honors include:

Rebecca Stevenson, senior in music education, Delia, Pi Kappa Lambda initiate.

From Greater Kansas City: Anna Eaverson, graduate student in music, Olathe, Pi Kappa Lambda initiate; Adam Lundine, senior in music education, Presser Undergraduate Scholar Award as the outstanding music major at the end of his junior year, and second place at the Honors Recital for his performance of "Prelude, cadence et finale" by Alfred Desenclos, and Andrew Sweeney, freshman in music education, Pi Kappa Lambda outstanding freshman, both from Overland Park; Jessie Freyermuth, graduate student in music, Shawnee, Pi Kappa Lambda initiate; and Emory Dease, graduate student in music, Stilwell, Pi Kappa Lambda initiate.

Jaimie Shores, senior in music education, Haven, the Lloyd W. Muir Memorial Music Scholarship for being a leader in music, academics and service; Shawn Knopp, August 2009 master's graduate in music, Lindsborg, Pi Kappa Lambda initiate; Paden Town, senior in music education, Louisburg, Phi Mu Alpha Collegiate Honor Award for lasting contributions to the music department, the university or the community.

From Manhattan: Drew Horton, senior in music education, third place at the Honors Recital for his performance of "Soliloquy" from "Carousel" by Richard Rodgers; Amanda Jolly, senior in applied music, Pi Kappa Lambda initiate; and Bryan Pinkall, graduate student in music, first place in the Honors Recital for his performance of "Granada" by Agustin Lara, and a Pi Kappa Lambda initiate.

Kyle Hopkins, August 2009 master's graduate in music, McPherson, Pi Kappa Lambda initiate; Brian Anderson, December 2009 bachelor's graduate in mathematics and music education, Salina, Pi Kappa Lambda outstanding senior and Pi Kappa Lambda initiate; Roselyn Sweaney, August 2009 master's graduate in music, Sedan, Pi Kappa Lambda initiate; and Ben MacGill, junior in applied music, Wichita, Pi Kappa Lambda outstanding junior.

From out of state:

Marissa Brown, graduate student in food science, Peachtree City, Ga., Sigma Alpha Iota Collegiate Honor Award for outstanding musicianship, scholarship and fraternity service; Samuel Brinton, senior in applied music and mechanical engineering, Perry, Iowa, the Phi Mu Alpha Scholastic Award for having the highest grade point average among graduating chapter members; Heather Haberberger, sophomore in applied music, Fenton, Mo., Pi Kappa Lambda outstanding sophomore; and Dara Jochum, August 2009 master's graduate in music, Minden, Neb., Pi Kappa Lambda initiate.

Shores, as the winner of the Muir Memorial Music Scholarship, has been a member of several K-State music ensembles, including the Wind Ensemble, Symphony Band, Marching Band, Concert Band, Percussion Ensemble, Brass Ensemble, Jazz Lab A and B, various marimba quartets and multiple combos, and Women's Glee. She also has served as a soloist for many of the ensembles and has conducted the University Band. She is an officer of the K-State chapter of the Percussive Arts Society, a Band Ambassador and a member of Tau Beta Sigma and the Collegiate Music Educators National Conference. The Muir scholarship was established in memory of Lloyd Muir, who was a strong supporter of the K-State department of music and a longtime music vendor.

Lundine, the recipient of the Presser Undergraduate Scholar Award, is a saxophone student of K-State's Anna Marie Wytko. He has been a member of various performing ensembles, including the Wind Ensemble, Saxophone Quartet, Jazz Band, Marching Band and University Band. He recently performed composer Ralph Russell's "Exit 5" for solo alto saxophone at the Society of Composers Incorporated Convention, which was hosted by K-State in March. Lundine is a member of the K-State Saxophone Quartet that was a finalist in the 2010 Coleman Chamber Music Competition in Pasadena, Calif., and semifinalist in the Plowman Chamber Music Competition in Columbia, Mo. He is a Putnam Scholar, Rod Funk Memorial Scholar, a Kansas Music Education Association Robert F. Hollowell Memorial Scholarship winner, and a member of Kappa Delta Pi, an international honor society in education. He also is an officer of the Collegiate Music Educators National Conference and Kappa Kappa Psi, the honorary band fraternity.