Skip to the content

Kansas State University

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

A 'Class' Act

Employees of the Year named, longtime staff recognized for years of service


Nearly 300 classified employees were recognized recently for their dedication to K-State.

Richard HerrmanThe Classified Employee Recognition Ceremony April 8 was a chance for longtime employees and relatively recent additions alike to celebrate all of the good work they do for the university.

K-State President Jon Wefald congratulated all classified staff during the ceremony, awarded the President's Scholarship and recognized 2008 retirees. The scholarship went to Chassy Nichols in the department of apparel, textiles and interior design.

Jennyfer Owensby, president of K-State's Classified Senate, said classified staffers are critical to the success of the university and that those who planned the ceremony were quite pleased with the turnout.

"All that work pays off when we reward our colleagues for their dedication to K-State at the ceremony," she said. "I think everyone had fun, including me!"

During the festivities, several employees of the year were recognized for going above and beyond. Their names, followed by their department/unit, are:

Beth O. Alloway, Information Technology Assistance Center; Candace Becker, office of the provost; Ruth A. Berggren, Veterinary Medicine Teaching Hospital; Kelley L. Blankley, horticulture, forestry and recreation resources; Rebecca L. Bohnenblust, biology; Vicki L. Brown, Northwest Agricultural Research Center -- Colby; Sandra K. Chandler, Kansas Forest Service; Sonya J. Conrad, Lafene Student Health Center; Rebecca L. Darling, Northwest Area Extension Office -- Colby; Rhiannon R. Englert, admissions; Michael D. Farres, K-State Student Union; Connie J. Fechter, School of Family Studies and Human Services; Leonard A. Finney, computing and telecommunications services; Maxine L. Ganske, K-State Libraries; Tracy E. Gibson, Educational Communications Center; Debra D. Gilman, student financial assistance; Debra M. Guillen, Classified Employee Recognition Ceremonycareer and employment services; Janice J. Herndon, computing and information sciences; Christopher S. Hseih, career and employment services; Benjy Jorgenson, housing and dining; Judith L. Larson, controller's office; Claudia R. Leeds, marketing; Leonard H. Leeling, continuing education; Terry Jo Litchfield, agronomy; Jo A. Maseberg-Tomlinson, animal sciences and industry; Patricia L. McCaffrey, Kansas Forest Service; Anita L. McDiffett, grain science and industry; Henry E. Melgosa, Southwest Research and Extension Center -- Garden City; Martha S. Monihen, cooperative extension; Lauren C. Muse, dean's office, College of Education; Robert M. Nixon, communications; Angela K. Pfizenmaier, dean's office, Graduate School; Beverly Price, facilities; Steve J. Prockish, housing and dining; Rhonda J. Riffel, fiscal affairs, K-State at Salina; Tonya J. Schroller, Lafene Student Health Center; Marla D. Sexton, Southeast Agricultural Research Center -- Parsons; Michael J. Shelton, horticulture, forestry and recreation resources; Rose M. Sloan, parking services; Joyce S. Spencer, military science; Vera Spring, human resources; Heather M. Tourney, dean's office, College of Architecture, Planning and Design; Libby Vathauer, dean's office, College of Human Ecology; Debra L. Webb, mathematics; Matthew D. Woydziak, Agricultural Research Center -- Hays; and James M. Younkin, K-State police department.

In addition, 2008 retirees and employees with five, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, and 40 years of service to the university were honored with plaques. Those employees are listed here.


Photos: (Top) K-State Police Captain Richard Herrman is all smiles as he shows off the plaque he received for 35 years of service to K-State. Hermann, along with around 300 other classified employees, were honored during the Classified Staff Recognition Ceremony April 8. (Bottom) The ceremony was well attended. Photos courtesy of Carolyn Elliott.