Skip to the content

Kansas State University




Join us on facebook


Check out K-State on YouTube


News Services
Kansas State University
128 Dole Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
Information provided by K-State News Services may be reproduced without permission. The marks and names of Kansas State University are protected trademarks and may not be used in any commercial or private endeavor without the approval of the university.

Kansas State University achievements

2010 Scholars


* K-State's newest Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship recipients are Sophia Ford, Nathen Lippert and Juan Carlos Mendoza. The Gilman scholarship provides up to $5,000 for undergraduate students to study abroad. Ford will study at the University of Iceland in Reykjavik, Iceland; Lippert will study in Prague, Czech Republic; and Mendoza will study at the University of Hertfordshire in England. Dec. 2010

* Johnathan Bostrom, junior in anthropology and history, received a Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship to study in China. The scholarship provides up to $5,000 for undergraduate study abroad. Bostrom is K-State's 25th Gilman recipient since the scholarship program was created in 2002. July 2010

* A K-State graduate student and three recent K-State graduates were named 2010 Fulbright Scholars. The scholars and their destinations are Amanda Stueve, May 2010 bachelor's graduate in anthropology, Morocco; Kelsey Moran, May 2010 bachelor's graduate in political science and pre-law, Argentina; Molly Yochim, December 2009 bachelor's graduate in history, Germany; and Hyatt Frobose, master's student in swine nutrition and animal welfare, Australia. K-State has had 53 Fulbright scholars since 1975. Recipients are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement as well as leadership potential. June 2010

* Kelsey Moran, K-State senior in political science and pre-law, Hays, has received a Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowship. She has been named the 2010 Kathleen Greey Fellow through Phi Kappa Phi national honor society, for which she will receive $5,000 for graduate study. She is among 60 students nationally to receive the Phi Kappa Phi fellowship this year. She will use the fellowship to go to law school. April 2010

* Kansas State University's Shane Scott, Dodge City, and Emily Tummons, Leawood, have won 2010 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships, and Andrew Satterlee, Overland Park, has been recognized as an honorable mention. April 2010

* Kansas State University student Amy Sents is K-State's 32nd Harry S. Truman Scholar. Sents, McPherson, is a senior in animal sciences and industry and pre-veterinary medicine with a minor in international agriculture. As a winner of the Truman scholarship, she will receive as much as $30,000 for graduate studies toward a career in public service. March 2010


2009 Scholars

2008 Scholars

2007 Scholars