Healthful and Safe College Life (EDCEP 103)
Internet Links

Mental Health Module

Choosing one of the following links will take you beyond the K-State web site. Some of these links may be in PDF form, which requires Adobe Acrobat to view. Acrobat may be downloaded for free at Adobe's web site.

Disclaimer: Users of the Lafene Health Center web site acknowledge their role and responsibility in seeking health care. Health information is provided on this web site as a reference, and is not intended to replace a visit to your doctor or other health care provider. Lafene Health Center is not responsible for information on web sites other than our own. The mention of a particular product or service does not constitute a recommendation or endorsement unless indicated. KSU students, for health care, see your Lafene healthcare provider. Medical care is not provided using e-mail.

Search by the course section for the health and safety related information.

Stress
Sleep
Overcoming Depression
Preventing Suicide

Stress
American Psychological Association Help Center -
K-State's Counseling Services -
Resources at K-State & Manhattan

K-State's Counseling Services
232 English/Counseling Services Bldg
Manhattan, KS 66506-6503
785-532-6927
Online Program and Resources

K-State's Lafene Health Center

Family Center Services (Marriage and Family Therapy at K-State) - www.humec.k-state.edu/familycenter/services.php

universitylifecafe.org - http://universitylifecafe.org

Pawnee Mental Health Service: www.pawnee.org/wordpress

If You Want To Know More:

K-State's Office of Student Life - Crisis Assistance - www.k-state.edu/studentlife/crisisassistance

The University of Georgia Health Center - Managing Stress: A Guide for College Students: www.uhs.uga.edu/stress
(Note: resources listed on this website are located in or around the University of Georgia. Similar resources are available here at Kansas State University.)

National Institute of Mental Health - Getting Help: Locate Resources - www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/getting-help-locate-services

Return to top

Sleep
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services - Your Guide to Healthy Sleep:
www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/public/sleep/healthy_sleep.pdf
WebMD - What is Sleep? www.webmd.com/sleep-disorders/guide/sleep-101
National Institutes of Health -
American Academy of Sleep Medicine - The Healthy Habits of Good Sleep - http://yoursleep.aasmnet.org/Hygiene.aspx
If You Want To Know More:

National Institute of Mental Health- "Power Nap" Prevents Burnout; Morning Sleep Perfects a Skill: www.nimh.nih.gov/science-news/2002/power-nap-prevents-burnout-morning-sleep-perfects-a-skill.shtml

MedlinePlus online Sleep Disorders Tutorial: www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/tutorials/sleepdisorders/htm
(Interactive Tutorial requires Flash Player, available on tutorial web site.)

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke - Brain Basics: Understanding Sleep: www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/brain_basics/understanding_sleep.htm
(Lots of information about normal sleep and sleep deprivation.)

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute - Interactive Sleep Quiz: www.nhlbi.nih.gov/cgi-bin/tfSleepQuiz.pl

Centers for Disease Control, Sleep and Chronic Disease - www.cdc.gov/sleep/about_sleep/chronic_disease.htm

Return to top

Overcoming Depression
National Institute of Mental Health -
K-State's Counseling Services -
American Psychological Association - Depression and How Psychotherapy and Other Treatments Can Help People Recover: www.apa.org/topics/depress/recover.aspx
Resources at K-State & Manhattan

K-State's Counseling Services
232 English/Counseling Services Bldg,
Manhattan, KS 66506-6503
785-532-6927
Online Programs and Resources

K-State's Lafene Health Center

Family Center Services at K-State:
www.humec.k-state.edu/familycenter/services.php

universitylifecafe.org - http://universitylifecafe.org

Pawnee Mental Health Service - www.pawnee.org/wordpress

If You Want To Know More:

All About Depression: http://allaboutdepression.com

Mayo Clinic, Depression Self-Assessment - www.mayoclinic.com/health/depression/MH00103_D

MedlinePlus - Mental Disorders: www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/mentaldisorders.html

Return to top

Preventing Suicide

SAVE (Suicide Awareness Voices of Education) -

National Institute for Mental Health - What if I or someone I know is in crisis? www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/depression/what-if-i-or-someone-i-know-is-in-crisis.shtml
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline, Help Someone Else Online - www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/GetHelp/Online
KANSAS Suicide & Crisis Hotlines http://suicidehotlines.com/kansas.html
Resources at K-State and Locally

K-State's Counseling Services
232 English/Counseling Services Bldg,
Manhattan, KS 66506-6503
785.532.6927
Online Programs and Resources

K-State's Lafene Health Center

Pawnee Mental Health: www.pawnee.org/wordpress
Outpatient mental health and substance abuse services
2001 Claflin Road
Manhattan, KS 66502
785.587.4300

Mercy Regional Health Center:
www.via-christi.org/body_mercy.cfm?id=76
See Emergency Medicine and Behavioral Health services.
1823 College Avenue
Manhattan, Kansas 66502
785.776.3322

Find Help in Your Community

National Institute of Mental Health - Getting Help: Locate Resources - www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/getting-help-locate-services

SAMSA's National Mental Health Information Center - http://store.samhsa.gov/mhlocator

If You Want To Know More:

KANSAS Suicide & Crisis Hotlines - http://suicidehotlines.com/kansas.html

National Hopeline Network
1.800.SUICIDE
1.800.784.2433

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline - www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org
1.800.273.TALK
1.800.273.8255
TTY: 1.800.799.4TTY (4889)

The Mental Health Association of the Heartland
Mental Health Help Line: 913.281.1234

WICHITA
24-Hour Suicide Hotline
COMCARE of Sedgwick County:
www.sedgwickcounty.org/COMCARE/crisis.asp
316.660.7500 (24 hours / 7 days)

Transition Year - www.transitionyear.org

Active Minds - www.activeminds.org

The JED Foundation - www.jedfoundation.org

Man Therapy, The Carson J Spencer Foundation - http://mantherapy.org

Suicide Prevention Resource Center - http://sprc.org

SAMHSA - Getting Through Tough Economic Times - www.samhsa.gov/ECONOMY/

Return to top



lafene@k-state.edu

Search by the course modules for the health and safety related information.

If you have questions, please call Health Promotion, 785.532.6595.