Newman Civic Fellows

Congratulations to the 2014 Newman Civic Fellows!

Chase Blasi

Newman University

Ashlie Koehn

University of Kansas

Michelle Zorn

Butler Community College

MaryAlice Coulter

Johnson County Community College

Zach Martin

Hutchinson Community College

Jenny Herbig

University of St. Mary

Rachel Wong

Southwestern College




In the spirit of Dr. Newman’s leadership, Campus Compact is seeking student nominations for the Newman Civic Fellows Award to recognize student leaders with both the motivation and ability to make substantial contributions toward public problem solving—those that go beyond traditional service activities in their community involvement. Each institution’s nominee will become a Newman Civic Fellow, representing your school among a national group of leaders. Students will receive an award certificate and an invitation to join the Newman Civic Fellows online network. Newman Civic Fellows will be featured on Campus Compact’s national website and in state-specific activities as appropriate.

Nominations must be made by the president of the institution, so please encourage students, faculty or service directors to bring recommendations for nominees to that office.  Sophomores and juniors at four-year schools and second-year students from community colleges are eligible for nomination.  Only one student per campus may be nominated each year, and each member of KsCC may have a Newman Civic Fellow.  Presidents are asked to submit a letter of nomination along with an abstract summary of the nominee’s community involvement and a photo.  Newman Civic Fellows will receive certificates and invitations to join the Newman Civic Fellows network shortly after the nomination process is closed. 

The entire nomination process, and additional details, can be found here:

Congratulations to the 2013-2014 Frank Newman Civic Fellows in Kansas:

Alexandra Rose
University of Kansas
Emma Flynn
Hutchinson Community College
Jordan Boyd
Pittsburg State
Kelly Nuckols
Fort Hays State University
Renata Herrmann
Butler Community College
Ross Allen
Kansas State University
Sally McGuire
Southwestern College

2012-2013 Newman Civic Fellows in Kansas

Lauren Baker
Baker University

Courtney Weerts
Kansas State University

Xavia Warren
Johnson County Community College

Tyler Thompson
Fort Hays State University

Meeka Gentry
Southwestern College

Gina Galanou
Johnson County Community College

Kelly Cosby
University of Kansas

  • Updated: 5/29/18