1. K-State home
  2. »ISSS
  3. »resources
  4. »Driver's License in Kansas

International Student and Scholar Services

Driver's License in Kansas

Procedures for applying for or extending your Kansas driver's license:

In order to apply for a new Kansas Drivers License or to extend your License you must go to the Department of Motor Vehicles and present the appropriate documentation.

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
8200 Southport Drive, Suite 105
Manhattan, KS 66502
Hours: Tuesday-Friday from 7 a.m. until 5:45 p.m.
Phone: 785-537-2140

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) - Salina, Kansas
2910 Arnold Avenue
Salina, KS 67401
Hours: Tuesday-Friday from 7 a.m. until 5:45 p.m.
Phone: 785-825-0321

For F-1 students – Copy of I-20, I-94, passport and Employment Authorization Document (EAD), if applicable. Students who are on post-completion OPT should indicate that and ask that the A number on the EAD be used as an alternative to the SEVIS number on the I-20 for SAVE verification.

For J-1 students and scholars – Copy of the DS-2019, I-94 and passport

For H-1Bs – Copy of the I-797 (Approval Notice), I-94 and passport. If your H-1B extension is pending, then a copy of the Receipt Notice and I-797 Approval Notice for most recent H-1B.

In addition, you will need to have proof of your local address and cash or a check to pay the fee. It is recommended that you call the DMV for an appointment so that you will not have to wait long.  

For additional information, visit  http://www.ksrevenue.org/dmvobtainingdl.html.

To prove residency and address you need two of the following and it must be in the applicant's name and have a Kansas residence noted:

  • Kansas school form; such as a tuition invoice, receipt, class schedule, report card, DE-99, or transcript
  • Utility bill, not more than two months old (cellular phone and pager bills are not acceptable)
  • Kansas property tax bill or receipt
  • Residential rental and/or lease agreement; credit card statement issued within the last 90 days
  • Payroll check stub issued within the last two months
  • Original monthly bank statement not more than two months old issued by a bank
  • Printed copy of information from KSIS that includes current address

Dependents will need to follow the same procedures. In addition to bringing the dependent documents, you will also need to have the documents of the F-1, J-1 or H-1B. It is also recommended that the F-1, J-1 or H-1B accompany you when you to go the DMV.

Please note that F-1 & J-1 students and J-1 scholars are only eligible to obtain a license or identification card that is valid for a maximum of one year. H-1Bs are eligible to receive a license until the expiration date listed on the I-94 card. If you have an H-1B extension pending, then the license will be issued for 240 days. Renewals are possible.

Driver's License Examination (Class C)

Your initial driver's license examination is divided into three parts: vision, written, and driving. Be sure to study adequately; if you fail the written or driving exam 4 times you must wait 6 months before taking it again. To renew an expired or expiring license, you must present the required documentation, pay the applicable fees, and pass both a vision and a written exam.

  • Vision Exam: If you wear corrective lenses be sure to wear them for all parts of the examination.
  • Written Exam: The written test will ask questions over Kansas driving laws, as well as questions about the shape and meaning of road signs. To study you will need a Kansas driving handbook. You can get one at the website listed below or you can obtain one at the exam station.
  • Driving Exam: You may only take the driving test after the other tests have been passed. To complete this step, you need to bring a car (if the car is rented it must be in your name) in which to take the test.
International Driving Permit (IDP)

If you have a valid driver license from your home country and do not become a Kansas resident as defined by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you may drive for up to one year from the date of entry stamped on your I-94. If you become a Kansas resident as determined by the DMV, you have 60 days to get a new Kansas driver's license. The Kansas DMV law states you become a Kansas resident 90 days after registering a child in school or registering a motor vehicle.

Although it is not required, you should also have an International Driving Permit (IDP). An IDP serves as an official translation of the holder's driver's license into 10 foreign languages. The purpose of an IDP is to supplement, not replace, valid government issued licenses. It serves as a translation of a driver's license and assists with understanding, but does not provide driving privileges by itself. Be wary of IDP scams. For more information on the IDP please visit: http://answers.usa.gov/system/templates/selfservice/USAGov/#portal/1012/article/2815/International Driving Permit IDP

Motorcycle License (Class M)

A person with a regular Class C license (see above) is eligible to drive a moped (scooter) whose engine capacity is 130 cubic centimeters (cc) or under. However, if the engine capacity is over 130 cc the driver must obtain a Motorcycle License (Class M). To earn your motorcycle license, you must pass a knowledge test and an on-cycle skill test. For more information on obtaining a motorcycle license please see the Kansas Motorcycle Operator Manual: http://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/mchdbk.pdf

Manhattan Exam Station
Department of Motor Vehicles
8200 Southport Drive, Suite 105
Manhattan, KS 66502
Hours: Tuesday-Friday from 7 a.m. until 5:45 p.m.
Phone: 785-537-2140

Salina Exam Station
Department of Motor Vehicles
2910 Arnold Avenue
Salina, KS 67401
Hours: Tuesday-Friday from 7 a.m. until 5:45 p.m.
Phone: 785-825-0321

Kansas Driving Handbookhttp://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/dlhb.pdf
Please note that state driving laws vary. If you plan on driving in another state, you should investigate their laws.