Minutes

Faculty Senate Committee on University Planning

August 3, 2023 4:00 pm

Student Union room 205 or Zoom: https://ksu.zoom.us/j/736339996

Present: Rebecca Adams, Barbara Anderson, Erin Bishop, Cassie Jones, Julie Keen (proxy for Kramer) Elizabeth Kiss, Marianne Korten, Tom Misilo, Gina Scott, Eric Shappee, and Elliot Young

Absent: Lynn Carlin, Todd Gabbard, Don Saucier, Caleb Stout, Jim Teagarden

1. Call to Order and Introductions – Jones and Korten

Co-chairs request copy the other when you email one.

2. Appoint a secretary who will take brief minutes.

Barbara Anderson volunteered.

3. Review the Charge for FSCOUP from the University Handbook, Appendix E

Article I, Section B. Jurisdiction and Duties of the Faculty Senate

- 6. University Planning
 - a. Participate in the shared governance of determining mission related academic priorities at the institutional level.
 - b. Participate in the shared governance by which distribution of university appropriated resources in support of the academic, research, and service missions of the university is determined.

Article III, Section C. Caucuses, Committees, and Councils

- 2. Permanent Committees...
 - f. The Committee on University Planning shall be composed of one representative from each caucus and the student body president or their designee. The student representative shall serve as ex officio with voting rights. Liaisons from the Provost's Office and University Support Staff Senate will serve as ex officio without voting rights. Each Faculty Senate caucus shall select one member of the committee as their representative. Those selected members of the committee need not be senators but must be unclassified personnel eligible for Faculty Senate membership as outlined in Article II, Section A.2. A term lasts three years, and members may serve two consecutive terms. Only in exceptional circumstances, approved by the executive committee, can a member serve a third consecutive term. The chair, or co-chairs, of the committee shall be elected by committee members and will serve one-year renewable terms. If not a current

senator, the chair, or co-chairs, will be an ex officio member of Faculty Senate with voting rights. Committee members who are not current senators are voting members of the committee, but they do not have voting rights on Faculty Senate and are not members of Faculty Senate.

Also See University Handbook <u>Section B95</u> (composition and charge), <u>Appendix B</u>, <u>Appendix K</u>, and <u>Appendix N</u> for detailed information about roles in Financial Exigency, Discontinuation of Units with Tenured Personnel, and Reorganization of Academic Units

- 4. Themes for the academic year:
 - a. Next-Gen K-State Draft Strategic Plan 2030, university leadership requested feedback and items needing clarifications.

We decided to create a Google Doc for all to record comments and questions. FSCOUP members are encouraged to secure and report feedback from their caucus. Link to Folder with Google Doc will be shared with FSCOUP members via the listserv. Add your feedback no later than August 14. Comment on feedback by midnight on August 15. After that, an ad hoc group of the willing will meet to summarize/synthesize feedback for university leadership no later than August 25.

- b. Provost Search
 - WittKieffer is the consulting search company for this position. On August 10 WittKieffer has invited the FS Executive Committee to a listening session. Jones and Korten request FSCOUP members send items/topics to them via email no later than August 9.
 - We will invite Provost Taber to a meeting this fall and ask him to recommend areas of improvement that could use our attention.
- c. Budget Model
 - Last year we did not have meetings with the committee working toward revision of our budget model. We will request a meeting with VP Erickson to discuss the budget.
- d. Requests from constituents: Clarification about rules for reinvestments and timing needs of chairs. Invite Peter Chai from Foundation, in charge of investments, to talk to us.
 - a. There was a brief discussion indicating not all heads/departments had experienced challenges with using expendable balances on KSU Foundation funds. We will inquire of the KSU Foundation if this practice is across the board or only in one, or a few, colleges. After we know more we will address as appropriate.
- 5. Other items we may want to add to item 4.

a. Invite Senior VP for Executive Affairs, Marshall Stewart, to a FSCOUP meeting to discuss Executive Affairs, such as the strategic plan.

b. We have been asked to examine and provide advice regarding the relationships between Administrative committees and Faculty Senate for items that require, or would benefit from, shared governance. The General Education mandate from KBOR showed the challenge we have without clarity. An example of a process that is complicated and not working well is the <u>Committee on Academic Policy and Procedures</u>, Academic Associate Deans, and Faculty Senate Academic Affairs. There is also a related group about academic records: <u>ARPS</u>. This will be a big task, but we may be able to manage an inclusive process of mapping the systems, their participants, processes, etc. to clarify what each group does and when the interface with Faculty Senate should happen to assure shared governance.

6. Adjournment

Meeting Schedule 2023-2024, 4-5 p.m. F2F and via Zoom

August 3 September 7 October 5 November 2 December 7 (no January meeting) February 1 March 7 April 4 May 2 June 6 (no July meeting).

Members

Marianne Korten, Arts & Sciences (21-23 & 23-26) (Co-Chair) Cassie Jones, Agriculture (22-23 & 23-26) (Co-Chair) Rebecca Adams, Business Administration (21-24) Barbara Anderson, Health and Human Sciences (23-24) Erin Bishop, Term Appointment (Spring 22-24) Todd Gabbard, Architecture, Planning, and Design (20-22 & 22-25) Kimberly Kramer, Engineering (23-24) Elizabeth Kiss, Extension (23-24) Elizabeth Kiss, Extension (23-24) Tom Misilo, K-State Libraries (22-24) Don Saucier, Past president of Faculty Senate Gina Scott, Veterinary Medicine (23-25) Eric Shappee, Technology & Aviation, K-State Salina (19-22 & 22-25) Caleb Stout, Student Body President James Teagarden, Education (21-24) Elliot Young, General University (23-26)

Non-voting Attendees: Lynn Carlin, Liaison for the Provost Currently Vacant, Liaison for University Support Staff