### Epsilon Sigma Phi Alpha Rho Chapter Annual Meeting and Recognition Event

## October 19, 2021

#### Present:

Marlin Bates, Mary Sullivan, Jennifer Wilson, Crystal Futrell, JoEllyn Argabright, Daryl Bucholtz, Chris Onstad, Doug Jardine, Gordon Dowell, Denise Dias, Jeanne Falk-Jones, Chuck Otte, Susie Latta, Sharolyn Flaming-Jackson, Gayle Price, Karen Blakeslee, Aliesa Woods, Michelle Beran, Gary Fike, Trudy Rice, Anna Muir, Beth Hinshaw, Stacey Warner, Gregg Hadley, Laurie Chandler, Nozella Brown (husband), Bertha Mendoza, Sharon Erickson-Fryback, Deb Andres, Shandi Andres, Marilyn Corbin, Sandy Procter, Rachael Clews, Wade Weber, Cassie Homan, Blaire Todd, Alexandria Ware, Shad Marston, Sarah Maass, Patsy Maddy, Cheryl Boyer, Lindsey Mueting, Diane Mack, Nancy Daniels, Rebecca MacFarland, Jan Steen, Linda Beech, Doug Beech, Tara Markley, JuJu Wellemeyer, Greg McClure, Sara Sawer, Chelsea Richmond, Frances Graves, Olivia Barber, Jessie Furgins, Janet Harkness, Bruno Pedriera, Wendy Hughes, Jodi Besthorn, Andrea Burns

Guests: KLC (2)

#### Welcome

The meeting was called to order by current president, Marlin Bates at 12:13.

Marlin thanked the 2020-2021 slate of officers:

President: Marlin Bates

President-Elect: Shane Potter Secretary: JoEllyn Argabright

Treasurer: Deb Wood Historian: Elizabeth Kiss

Past President/Endowment Fund Chair: Jennifer Wilson

**Council Directors** 

Western: Ethel Schneweis

Central: Anna Muir Eastern: Gary Fike State: Laurie Chandler Retirees: Daryl Bucholtz

Extension Director Representative: Gregg Hadley

# **Consent Agenda**

Chuck Otte moved; Deb Andres seconded to accept the Consent Agenda. Motion carried: 2020 Annual Meeting Minutes
Officer Reports as noted in the Annual Report
Audit Report
Proposed Budget

### **Nominations**

Jennifer Wilson provided the Nominating Committee Report with the following slate of Officers:

President-elect: Sarah Maass Treasurer: Debra Wood Historian: Elizabeth Kiss

Council Director:

Western – Patsy Maddy

Central – Elizabeth Brunscheen-Cartagena

State – Jan Steen

JCEP Vice President: Jill Martinson

JCEP Representatives: Ariel Whitely-Noll, Cassie Homan

Extension Endowment Board: Nora Rhoades

Anna Muir moved that the nominations cease and to accept the slate as presented. Jennifer Wilson seconded. Motion carried.

# **Constitution/By-Law and Procedure Changes**

Proposed changes were emailed to the membership on September 3rd, 2021, in order to meet notification guidelines prior to the annual meeting.

Summary of Procedural Change:

- Nominating Committee define the nominating committee as members of the Executive Board and establish as such;
- Recommend Committee Member of Standing Committee terms be 1 year in length rather than 2 years.

No questions from the floor.

Jill Martinson moved to accept the changes and Sarah Maass seconded. Motioned carried.

### Banquet - Endowment - Awards Recognition

Crystal Futrell, Banquet Chair, thanked members who nominated the Awardees. The committee featured value statements related to their membership in ESP around the banquet. Thank you to the members who submitted statements.

Jan Steen, Endowment Chair, announced there will be no Endowment Auction this year. Opportunities to donate directly or take a paycheck reduction are available.

Lindsey Mueting, Awards Chair, announced there are 14 awards this year.

Horizon Award: Tom Buller, Ariel Whitely-Noll

Meritorious Service Award: Nora Rhoades, Sharolyn Flaming-Jackson, Erin Yelland,

Early Career Service Award: Nancy Daniels

Mid-Career Service Award: Sarah Maass Retiree Service Award: Stacey Warner

Distinguished Service Award: Laurie Chandler Continued Excellence Award: Trudy Rice Visionary Leadership Award: Cheryl Boyer

Diversity Award: Nozella Brown

Distinguished Team Award: Sarah Maass, Lindsey Mueting Friend of Extension Award: Kansas Leadership Center

### **Grant Awards**

Jennifer Wilson presented the ESP Endowment grant awards:

Three grant requests were received in the fall:

- From Sarah Maass, \$1500 to fund a STEM education program.
- From Marlin Bates, \$4000 to work with the KSRE diversity, equity and inclusion initiative to conduct Coming Together for Racial Understanding training in Kansas.
- From Marlin Bates on behalf of the ESP Board, \$3000 to conduct an ESP Board strategic planning retreat.

## **Tenure Recognition**

Aliesa Woods recognized years of service:

# 5 years:

- Michelle Beran
- Sara Sawer
- Susan Fangman

# 10 years:

- Lindsey Mueting
- Crystal Futrell

## 20 years:

Ginger Kopfer

## 25 years:

Denise Dias

# 35 years:

- Trudy Rice
- Gregory McClure
- Donna Krug

## **New Member Recognition**

Beth Hinshaw recognized new members: Annual Membership - Frances Graves, Olivia Barber, Jessie Furgins, Jessie Carr, Janet Harkness, Bruno Pedriera, Blaire Todd and Life Memberships - Gary Gerhard, Mary (Fran) Richmond and Doug Jardine. Transferred Life Members - Marilyn Corbin, Holly Miner

### **Retirees**

Stacey Warner recognized members who retired in the last year:

Diane Mack, Cindy Evans, Duan Hund, Nadine Sigle

### **Memorials**

Marlin Bates asked for a moment of silence to honor members who passed away this year:

Charles Smith
David Dunn
E.J. "Jack" Peterson
G. Catherine Thorsell
Harrold Gottsch
Mariellen Appleby
Marsha Weaver

### **Installation of New Officers**

Marlin installed and welcomed new officers:

President: Shane Potter
President-elect: Sarah Maass
Secretary: JoEllyn Argabright
Treasurer: Debra Wood
Historian: Elizabeth Kiss
Editor: Rachel Clews
Council Directors:

Eastern Kansas--Gary Fike

Central Kansas—Elizabeth Brunscheen-Cartagena

Western Kansas—Patsy Maddy

State—Jan Steen

Retirees—Daryl Buchholz

JCEP VP: Jill Martinson

JCEP Representatives—Ariel Whitely-Noll, Cassie Homan

## **Closing Remarks**

Coming up:

KS-JCEP Board of Directors Meeting with KSRE Admin, get your questions to Jill Martinson by December 1, 2021

Plan To Attend:

JCEP Extension Leadership Conference February 9-10, 2022 Kansas City, Missouri ESP National Meeting September 26-29, 2022, Branson, Missouri

Lindsey Mueting will receive the free membership.

Meeting was adjourned at 1:06 pm.