Epsilon Sigma Phi Alpha Rho Chapter Virtual Annual Meeting and Recognition Event

October 26, 2020

Present:

Lisa Martin, Trudy Rice, Jim Lindquist, Jennifer Wilson, Karen Blakeslee, Erin Yelland, Jonathan Aguilar, Laurie Chandler, Patsy Maddy, Jan Steen, Jill Martinson, Doug and Linda Beech, Rebecca McFarland, Tara Markley, Ginger Kopfer, Debra Wood, Duane Hund, Sara Sawer, Sarah Maass, Beth Hinshaw, Jeanne Falk Jones, Shad Marston, Rachael Clews, Nancy Daniels, Marlin Bates, Berny Unruh, Anissa Jepsen, Monica Thayer, Anna Muir, Lindsey Mueting, Denise Dias, Jennifer Brantley, Donna Krug, Tom Buller, Sandra Wick, Shane Potter, Shad Marston, Cassie Homan, Cindy Evans, Sharolyn Jackson, Susan Fangman, Gayle Price, Nora Rhoades, Candis Meerpohl, Clint Bain, Gary Fike, Diane Mack, Andrea Burns, Doug Jardine, Elizabeth Kiss, Stacy Warner, Chelsea Richmond

Welcome

The meeting was called to order by current president, Jennifer Wilson. She wished the chapter a Happy 90th birthday and compared the commonalities of Extension work in 1930 to today with the goal of providing balanced Extension programs in every county. From 1930 to today, Extension strives to reach audiences in a variety of delivery methods as this past year stretched our abilities to serve our clients virtually.

Jennifer also recognized the chapter with having earned the Gold Level Award and Achievement in Chapter Membership.

Jennifer thanked the 2019-2020 slate of officers:

President: Jennifer Wilson President-Elect: Marlin Bates

Secretary: Lisa Martin Treasurer: Deb Wood Historian: Elizabeth Kiss

Past President/Endowment Fund Chair: Erin Yelland

Council Directors

Northwest: Anna Muir Southwest: Ethel Schneweis Northeast: Candis Meerpohl Southeast: Beth Hinshaw State: Laurie Chandler

Retirees: Doug Beech

Extension Director Representative: Gregg Hadley

Jennifer provided a Thought for the Day: "Progress is made by people who dare. "Gayle Vandeberg, 1982.

Consent Agenda

Nancy Daniels moved; Erin Yelland seconded to accept the Consent Agenda. Motion carried:

2019 Annual Meeting Minutes
Officer Reports as noted in the Annual Report
Audit Report
Proposed Budget

Nominations

Erin Yelland provided the Nominating Committee Report with the following slate of Officers:

President-elect: Anissa Jepson Secretary: Joellyn Argabright

Editor: Rachel Clews

Council Director—East: Gary Fike

Retirees/Endowment Representative: Darryl Buchholz JCEP Vice President (One-year unfilled term): Chuck Otte

JCEP Representatives: Jill Martinson, Lisa Martin

Clint Bain moved that the nominations cease and to accept the slate as presented. Donna Krug seconded. Motion carried.

Constitution/By-Law and Procedure Changes

Proposed changes were emailed to the membership on September 24th, 2020, in order to meet notification guidelines prior to the annual meeting.

The constitution and by-laws committee was tasked with updating our association by-laws and constitution in order to:

- 1) account for proper elected representation from the association to KS-JCEP,
- 2) of those 3 new elected positions, designate the KS-JCEP VP as a member of the executive board while the 2 association representatives serve as members of the council,
- 3) align our director positions with the new extension areas (west, central, east instead of NE, NW, SE, SW), and
- 4) clean up the executive board section of the constitution so it is not in conflict with the by-laws.

Summary of Procedural Change:

- 1. Clarify that President will attend the JCEP leadership conference and President-elect will attend the PILD conference instead of both attending both meetings.
- 2. Clean up associated language to mirror current terminology.

No questions from the floor.

Erin Yelland moved to accept the changes and Nozella Brown seconded. Motioned carried.

Awards Recognition

Anissa Jepson, Awards Chair, thanked members who nominated the Awardees. She recognized the awardees with a video.

District Service Award: Beth Hinshaw Mid-Career Service Award: Marlin Bates Early Career Service Award: Teresa Hatfield

District Team Award: 4-H Camp Connection -- Sarah Maass, Lindsey Mueting, Candis Meerpohl,

McKenzie Smithson, Sonya Murphy, Wendy Hughes, Chelsi Myer, Tristen Cope

Friend of Extension Award: Larry Justice, Johnson County

Horizon Award: Sara Sawer

Grant Awards

Erin Yelland presented the ESP Endowment grant awards:

Marlin Bates--\$1750 travel grant for ESP National Conference

Deb Andres--\$1000 travel grant for the International Federation of Home Economics World Conference Lindsay Mueting and Dr. Sarah Maass--\$1000 for sUAS Commercial Pilot Training

JoEllyn Argabright - \$3000 for Rock the Bike - Fender Blender Project in the Northwest Area.

Lindsey Mueting and Dr. Sarah Maass - \$1200 for Literacy, Healthy Living, and Family Time through StoryWalk. \$1,200.

Trudy Rice - \$1494 for Remote Work Initiative Leader Certification.

Tom Buller - \$1354 for Sharing K-State Research and Extension's Local Foods Successes.

Tenure Recognition

Tara Markley recognized years of service:

Five Years: Nancy Daniels, Monica Thayer and Erin Yelland

10 Years: Sharon Erickson-Fryback, Chelsea Richmond, Anna Schremmer, Wade Weber

15 Years: Elizabeth Brunscheen-Cartagena 20 Years: Elizabeth Kiss, Chiquita Miller

25 Years: Jennifer Wilson 30 Years: Cindy Evans

New Member Recognition

Elizabeth Kiss recognized new members: Annual Membership—Joellyn Argabright, and two Life Memberships—Gary Gerhard and Doug Jardine.

Retirees

Doug Beech recognized members who retired in the last year:

John Beckman, Scott County Agricultural Agent
Sheryl Carson, Thomas County FCS Agent
John Forshee, River Valley District Director
Carl Garten, Central Kansas District Director
Doug Jardine, Plant Pathology State Specialist
Joanne Krumm, Reno County 4-H Youth Development Agent

Fran Richmond, Frontier District Director

Deanna Turner, River Valley District Adult Development and Aging Agent
Pam Van Horn, 4-H Youth Development Specialist

Memorials

Nora Rhodes asked for a moment of silence to honor members who passed away this year:

Florence "Flo" Biehl
David Dunn
Dorothy Nuefield
Leonard Parker
Robert Schoeff
Doris "Katey" Walker
Eldon Weaver
Don Wiles

Installation of New Officers

Jennifer installed and welcomed new officers:

President: Marlin Bates

President-elect: Anissa Jepson Secretary: Joellyn Argabright

Treasurer: Deb Wood Historian: Elizabeth Kiss Editor: Rachel Clews Council Directors:

Eastern Kansas--Gary Fike Central Kansas—Anna Muir

Western Kansas—Ethel Schneweis

State—Laurie Chandler Retirees—Darryl Buchholz

JCEP VP: Check Otte

JCEP Representatives—Jill Martinson and Lisa Martin

Jennifer played a video of members reciting the Extension Worker's Creed. She thanked Nathan Leatherman, KSRE videographer, who assisted with the video recording.

Closing Remarks

Clint Bain won the free membership drawing.

Marlin Bates, incoming president, thanked Jennifer for her service as outgoing president and her continuing service as regional vice president. He also thanked Erin Yelland as past president and the support that she has provided. He welcomed Anissa as president-elect. He encouraged members to

think about the service that they can provide as well as leadership, passion for our work and teamwork. He will be sending out a sign-up for committees in the next week.

Jennifer reminded members about

- 1. The Virtual JCEP Leadership Conference February 10-12, 2021
- 2. ESP National Meeting in Savannah Georgia October 25-28, 2021.
- 3. Applications for national scholarships are due December 1.

Meeting was adjourned at 2:02 pm.