Epsilon Sigma Phi Annual Meeting

October 21, 2014, 11:45am

The meeting was called to order by President Chuck Otte at 11: 50 am.

Minutes from previous meetings are available on <u>www.ksre.ksu.edu/esp-AlphaRho</u>. Sandra Wick made a motion to approve the minutes as posted on the website. Motion carried.

Chapter Officer Reports:

- **President** Chuck Otte: Twelve Alpho Rho members represented Kansas at the national meeting and four individuals received national awards. Chuck thanked everyone for allowing him to serve this past year.
- **President Elect** Stacey Warner: Stacey has been working on the committees and still is in need of a few chair elects. The work of the organization happens through the committees so she is challenging each committee to meet by conference call by January 1 to plan the work for the year. It's easy to not meet until the work is urgent and then easy for the chair to do it. She challenges each chair to involve all committee members. There is a list of responsibilities for the committees on the website as well as a list serv set up for each committee. Money for conference calls has been included in the budget. Out-going committee chairs should pass on their info to the new chair.
- Secretary Nadine Sigle:

Minutes of the Council Meetings were written and posted on the web site. The annual report was completed and emailed to the membership and was also posted to the website.

- **Treasurer** Jennifer Wilson: As of September 30, 2014 the checking account balance is \$10,896.45 and the CD balance is \$5,680.30 for total assets of \$16,576.75. Receipts for 2014 were \$10,305.41 and expenditures were \$8984.85.
- Historian Doug Jardine: No report
- Editor Sandra Wick: Two newsletters were sent out this past year, a winter issue in January and a summer issue in August. She also compiled the information for the annual recognition booklet.
- **Past President and Endowment Chair** Gayle Price: The ESP Extension Endowment Fund brochure was updated and copies were available for everyone at the tables. Everyone was encouraged to contribute to the endowment fund. This year three program innovation grants were awarded on one professional development grant. The Jim Lindquist Administration Leadership Scholarship was awarded to an individual to attend national meeting.

Council Director Reports:

- Northwest-Jeanne Falk Jones: Membership is down slightly and she has been making contacts to encourage membership.
- Northeast-John Forshee: Membership is down slightly and he has been making contacts to encourage membership.

- **Southwest:-**John Beckman: Membership is down slightly and he has been making contacts to encourage membership.
- Southeast-Jan McMahon: Membership is down slightly and she has been making contacts to encourage membership.
- **State-**Gary Gerhard: Not present.
- **Retirees-**Ann Domsch: Retirees are paid up.
- Administration-Daryl Buchholz: The administration group has met their goal of 100% membership in the chapter.

Standing Committee Reports:

- Annual Recognition Reception-Chelsea Richmond: Chelsea encouraged everyone to attend the recognition event this evening. It will feature a dessert bar.
- **Budget & Audit-**Susie Latta: The proposed budget for 2014-2015 was presented. It is the same as last year. Thanks were extended to Fred DeLano for auditing the books in the previous years. He has since moved to Colorado. Duane Hund has graciously agreed to be his replacement to audit the books.
- **Constitution & Bylaws** Carl Garten: No changes to the constitution or by-laws were made this past year.
- Global Relations-Denise Dias: No report.
- Membership Recruitment & Retention-Andrea Burns: Andrea thanked the council directors for their efforts in contacting new staff and staff who were previously members. We have 12 new members who will be initiated this evening.
- **Memorial-**Gina Aurand: This evening we will be recognizing five former members who have past away this last year.
- Nomination-Gayle Price:

The Slate of Officers includes President Elect –Nozella Brown, Secretary –Nadine Sigle, Editor –Sandra Wick, NE Director – Jamie Hancock, SE Director –Gayle Price, Retiree Director – Mary Lou Odle, and Endowment Trustee – Denise Dias.

- **Professionalism-**Ginny Barnard: No report.
- **Recognition** Sheryl Carson: Award applications were received in all areas except for International Service and Diversity/Multicultural Team. Thanks were extended to Margaret Phillips for developing a spread sheet with all the previous award winners and length of service for members. With this information everyone is encouraged to look at the spread sheet and consider who is eligible for awards and turn in nominations. This year's award winners will be recognized at this evening's recognition event.

- **Retiree**-Ann Domsch: Retirees will meet Thursday afternoon following the award luncheon. Daryl Buchholz and Stacey Warner will visit with the group. Entertainment will be provided by Steve Fischer's barbershop quartet.
- **Tenure Recognition-**Jeanne Falk Jones: Nineteen members will be honored this evening for their length of service and each has a ribbon to wear on their name badge during annual conference.

National Committee Reports:

- Membership Recruitment and Retention-Stacey Warner: She encouraged members to apply to serve on a national committee as it is an opportunity to learn more about ESP.
- **National Marketing-**Doug Jardine & Sandra Wick: A new recruitment brochure has been developed and the 60 seconds You Tube video developed by Randall Kowalik is available for all to use.
- **Professional Development-**Marie Blythe: Marie is on the committee to select proposals for national meeting. She encourages members to submit proposals and if selected their registration fee for national meetings is paid.

Old Business:

Development of a Kansas JCEP: Chuck Otte presented reasons as to why it would be to our advantage to switch from KEAA to JCEP. As it stands now, all of our agent associations allow state specialists and administrators to be members. KEAA is exclusionary in that it does not allow the specialist and administrators to be members. By moving to JCEP we would become more inclusive.

New Business

- Action on Committee Recommendations
 - \circ Approval of budget: Deb Wood moved to approve the budget at presented. Motion carried.
- Approval of Audit Report: Duane Hund has audited the book and found all books to be in order. Assets are up \$1546.22 from the previous year. Doug Jardine moved to approve the audit report. Motion carried.
- Election of Officers
 - President Elect Nozella Brown
 - Secretary Nadine Sigle
 - Editor Sandra Wick
 - NE Director Jamie Hancock
 - SE Director Gayle Price
 - Retiree Director Mary Lou Odle
 - Endowment Trustee Denise Dias

A motion was made to accept the unanimous ballot presented by the Nomination Committee by R. Scott Barrows with a second by Andrea Wood. Motion carried.

• Importance of Epsilon Sigma Phi: Barbara Stone raised the question of what are the benefits of joining Epsilon Sigma Phi and why should agents and specialists join? Comments from Chuck, Stacey and Gayle included – It is an organization where we take off our subject matter hats and

come together as an entire organization. It offers unique opportunities for professional development and scholarships. You make connections from across the entire extension organization and not just within your own subject matter area. It makes you expand outside of your regular comfort zone. You are exposed to ideas and issues in a more global viewpoint.

• Free membership drawing – Libby Curry was the lucky individual to have her check drawn for free membership this year.

A motion was made by Deryl Waldren to adjourn the meeting. Meeting was adjourned by President Gayle Price at 12:25 pm.

Minutes respectfully submitted, Nadine Sigle Alpha Rho Secretary