Alpha Rho Chapter – ESP Council Meeting August 13, 2014 – 1:45 p.m. Minutes

www.ksre.ksu.edu/esp-AlphaRho

Call to order- Chuck Otte called the meeting to order at 1:45 p.m.

Roll Call- Members participating in the conference call were Chuck Otte, Nadine Sigle, Jennifer Wilson, Sandra Wick, Gayle Price, Ann Domsch, Susie Latta, Sheryl Carson, Andrea Burns and Carl Garten.

Minutes - Minutes of June 18, 2014 conference call were posted on the web. With no additions or corrections to the minutes as posted on the website, Chuck declared the minutes approved as posted.

Chapter Officer Reports

President – Chuck Otte – No report

President Elect – Stacey Warner – I will soon be sending out an email to all members asking which committee they would like to serve on. I'll also be recruiting individuals to serve as chair-elects for the various committees. Current committee chairs are encouraged to put together their notes for this year to pass on the next year's committee chairs.

Secretary – Nadine Sigle – Minutes were posted on the web. Officers will be asked to submit reports for the annual report by September 25th.

Treasurer – Jennifer Wilson - The financial statements were emailed to council members and have been posted to the website.

Annalist/Historian – Doug Jardine – Out of state

Editor – Sandra Wick – Summer newsletter has been completed and posted to the website on 8/7/2014 and the winter newsletter will be prepared in January.

Past President/Endowment Chair – Gayle Price – As of the conference call Gayle had received only one innovative program grant proposal and no others. The deadline is Friday, August 15th. It was recommended to extend the deadline to September 1. The endowment trustees have been working on the text for the marketing brochure. It has been sent to Nancy Zimmerli Cates for formatting. The old brochure has been taken off the website.

Council Directors Reports

NW Director – Jeanne Falk Jones – Not present

NE Director – John Forshee – Not present

SW Director – John Beckman – Not present

SE Director – Jan McMahon – Not present

State Director – Gary Gerhard – Not present

Retirees – Ann Domsch – Ann contacted Fred DeLano and he is not making the plans for the retiree event at annual conference. Ann sent a note to committee members asking for suggestions. The plans are to just meet and visit this year. Ann might try to get some entertainment. She will contact DCE to reserve a room.

Extension Administration – Daryl Buchholz – Not present

Standing Committee's Reports

Annual Recognition Reception – Chelsea Richmond – Not present

Budget and Audit – Susie Latta – We need to find another person to audit the books as Fred DeLano will no longer be doing it. Susie will check with Mary Lou Odle to see if she will audit the books.

Constitution and Bylaws – Carl Garten – No changes will be made this year.

Global Relations - Denise Dias - Not present

Membership Recruitment and Retention – Andrea Burns – A letter was sent out to potential new members along with a brochure. The names will be forwarded onto the council directors to make a follow-up contact.

Memorial – Ann Ludlum – Ann has retired from Extension and we need to find a replacement for her. Nomination – Gayle Price – The nominating committee had to postpone their meeting due to conflicts and will be rescheduling. Gayle noted a replacement for the Retirees is difficult to find.

Professionalism – Ginny Barnard – Not present

Recognition– Sheryl Carson – We had 10 award nominations submitted and two were for the same person. One of the nominations was not eligible resulting in 8 good applications. We did not have a nomination turned in for the New Horizon Award. A question was raised as to whether retirees could be nominated for awards. The consensus was that if they paid dues and are eligible for the award they could be considered. The deadline for award applications is August 15th and we should still be getting a few more. Sheryl and Margaret Phillips have been working on a recruitment plan for awards and have invited folks to resubmit award applications if not awarded the previous year. The committee will meet to review the award applications. Retiree – Fred DeLano – Not present. Tenure Recognition – Jeanne Falk Jones – Not present

Alpha Rho ESP National Committee Members

Stacey Warner- Membership Recruitment and Retention – No report Marie Blythe-Professional Development – Not present Doug Jardine- Marketing - No report Sandra Wick- Marketing – Encouraged everyone to watch the video clip on the national website.

Old Business

Friend of Extension - The Irsik's plan to attend national meeting.

New Business

Annual Meeting/Awards Recognition planning – No discussion Discussion was held concerning the Silent Auction during annual conference. Ann Domsch and Jennifer Wilson will take care of it. Officers were encouraged to donate.

A question was raised concerning a dues increase for associate members. By consensus it was decided to leave the dues at \$20 if the budget is ok without an increase.

Announcement(s):

Next Chapter Council Conference Call: We won't have another call prior to our Annual Meeting in October. If you have any questions let Chuck know.

Adjourn - Chuck declared the meeting adjourned at 2:13 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Nadine Sigle