Skip to the content

Kansas State University


Academic Services
Kansas State University
204 Anderson Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506
785-532-5039 (fax)
  1. K-State Home >
  2. Committees >
  3. IRMC >
  4. Minutes >
  5. 2001 >
  6. November

Information Resource Management Council Meeting
Thursday November 15, 2001
Room 205 K-State Union
1:15 – 3:00 p.m.


  1. Tom Schellhardt opened the meeting.  He introduced the new members and thanked the outgoing members for their service on the council.  He then turned the meeting over to the new chair, Laurel Littrell.   The minutes of September 27, 2001 were approved.
  2. Discussion Items
    1. Web-site Accessibility Update-Jane Rowlett gave a presentation on web content accessibility.  She indicated that the university had appointed a committee charged with developing a plan to assure the university is in compliance with state and federal guidelines relative to making content posted on official university web sites accessible.  Much discussion occurred relative to the definition of an official university web site and how that might apply to courses or course materials posted on a web site.  It was agreed that Tom Schellhardt, Jane Rowlett, and Cheryl Strecker would meet with the Web Accessibility Committee to specifically determine which sites would be affected by the legislation.   Rowlett indicated that IRMC would be asked to endorse a set of guidelines relative to the University’s compliance.   
    2. Authentication update--Harv Townsend indicated that this project is funded and underway.
    3. Appointment of regular secretary for IRMC--Laurel Littrell asked for volunteers to take monthly meeting minutes. 
    4. Future of IRMC Committees—(Laurel Littrell)
  3. Committee Reports
    1. E-Commerce Issues and Practices Committee (Barb Newhouse)
    2. Appropriate Use of IT Resources (Gary Leitnaker)
    3. Education and Policy Promotion (Jean Darbyshire)
    4. Data Administration (David Hillier)
  4. Other Business

Next Meeting

Thursday December 13, 2001
Fairchild 202, 1:15 – 3:00 p.m.