1. K-State home
  2. »About K-State
  3. »Stats and Strengths
  4. »K-State achievements
  5. »2018 Faculty Achievements

About K-State

2018 Faculty Achievements


• Charting the universe: Physics' Lado Samushia selected for DESI, the international space exploration project.

• National service: Vice president for human capital services selected for board of directors of leading human resources organization.

• Of note: Tuba, euphonium professor releases new CD.

• Most influential: Diverse magazine recognizes College of Education's Kakali Bhattacharya as among top 25 women in higher education.

• Fulbright recipient: Philosophy's Jon Mahoney earns Fulbright grant for Kyrgyz Republic.

• Prestigious fellowship: English professor named 2018-2019 fellow of National Humanities Center.

• Key position: American ethnic studies' Isabel Millán re-elected Chicana caucus chair of National Association of Chicana and Chicano Studies.

• Emerging leader: College of Education's Kelly Briggs selected for elite academic advising leadership program.

• Salute for service: American Association of Swine Veterinarians presents Howard Dunne Memorial Award to College of Veterinary Medicine's Hesse.

• Divine dissertations: Industrial and manufacturing systems engineering professor and civil engineering professor earn dissertation awards from national organizations.

• Recognizing excellence: Weed Science Society of America presents agronomy's Dille with Outstanding Teacher Award.

• Leading the way: Jim Sherow elected president of Kansas History Association.

• Global leadership: College of Education's Augustine-Shaw to serve on International Mentoring Association board.

• Agriculture excellence: K.C. Agricultural Business Council presents Odde with Jay B. Dillingham Award.

• Selected to serve: Human Capital Services' Legleiter to serve on CUPA-HR Midwest Region board.

• National recognition: Educational leadership professor recognized with American Educational Research Association honor.

• Elite fellow: Frederick Burrack named Lowell Mason Fellow of the National Association for Music Education.

• Touchdown for service: Recreation Services' Armando Espinoza named the 2017 Kansas High School Football Official of the Year by national association.

• State's best: Assistant professor of counseling is Kansas Counselor of the Year.

• 'Plum' fellowship: Rachel Palinski named Transboundary Animal Diseases fellow at Plum Island Animal Disease Center.

• Prestigious landing: Mechanical and nuclear engineering's Chen named fellow in U.S. Air Force Research Lab Summer Faculty Fellowship program.

• Kudos for excellence: Human Capital Services' Legleiter cited for service by Midwest Region of the College and University Professional Association for Human Resources.

• National service: Honor and Integrity System's Camilla Roberts named vice president of International Center for Academic Integrity.

• Recipe for success: Van Zile Dining Center director wins national recipe contest.

• Excellent educator: College of Education dean named to Icons of Education for 2018.

• Career honor: Biological and agricultural engineering department head Joe Harner named to Rural Builder Hall of Fame.

• Leading the way: Hospitality management's Kristin Malek receives Emerging Leader Award from Heartland chapter of the Professional Convention Management Association.

• National service: Exercise physiology professor elected to national council

• Just 'write": Journalism and mass communications researchers earn best paper honors.

• Serving up excellence: Hanson named member of the year of Research Dietetic Practice Group of Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

• Meriting attention: Keen receives Award of Merit from ASHRAE.

• Handbook help: Management's Diane Swanson first author of chapter in Handbook of Industrial, Work and Organizational Psychology.

• Top teacher: Geology teaching assistant recognized nationally for excellence.

• Conservation kudos: Three K-State engineers receive National Water and Conservation Award.